Skip to content

Sub chicken if you must…

June 7, 2009

I have this sneaking suspicion that most people who read my blog may not actually “go all out” like I do.  In fact, I think I fair amount of you readers actually eat meat.  Correct me if I’m wrong.  Please.

Here’s the thing: I debated posting this recipe for chicken salad.  Well, really, Chik’N’Salad, because I’ve yet to blog a meat-filled-recipe.  And if there’s one thing I hate when I’m looking at potential meals, it is recipes that include the line:

start with 1 recipe of chik’n patties


Ugh.  As if the recipe itself isn’t hard enough, I have to begin with a total new recipe just to get to the starting point.  Pass.  TYVM.

BUT the chik’n salad was nice.  So I decided to share.  Just your regular, old, handy-dandy salad.  Nothing exotic.  No mandarin oranges.  No rehydrated cranberries.  Just a little vital wheat gluten and off you go.  You know, normal pantry supplies.  (This is sarcasm, people.  Everyone is constantly asking me where I get the vital wheal gluten.  Really.  Wal-mart, by the way, carries it.  But I know you don’t shop there due to moral reasons, so you can pick it up at your haughty-taughty supermarket.)

So, sub the chik’n patties with 2 cups of cubed chicken, and you, too, can enjoy this salad recipe.

IMGP3466

Chik’n’Salad (Adapted from the Goodhouskeeping Illustrated Cookbook)

1/3 cup light Miracle Whip
1 T cider vinegar
pinch salt
2 chikn patties, cubed
1/2 c sliced celery
1/2 c minced green pepper
1 T grated onion
almonds

Mix miracle whip with vinegar and salt.  Combine remaining ingredients and garnish with nuts.  Serve over lettuce or in a sandwich.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 12:51 am

    I have yet to get vital wheat!… and really? Walmart?! I definitely need to check it out once I get to the burbs (where our nearest Walmart is) (I’ve missed commenting on your blog for a bit so it’s so good to have some time and catch up with all your cooking/baking! :) )

  2. June 8, 2009 12:29 pm

    I admit that I’m not one who goes “all out” in the way that you do, but I sure do like to watch you do it!!!!

  3. LaurenandDan permalink
    June 9, 2009 3:21 pm

    I go all out! I am veggie, and my husband does eat meat on occasion (though not in the house, that’s a no-no for us, but to each their own!) I have tried the vegan steak. I may have kneaded it too long because it was a bit tough and spongy, but I’ll try it again, and the Chick’n recipe is on my fridge, waiting to be made. Keep them coming!

Trackbacks

  1. The evolution of wheat meat « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

