Skip to content

My heart beets for you

February 19, 2011

My blogger friend, Jey, over at The Jey of Cooking, decided to host a blogging event similar to my Charity Souper Bowl for animals.

In honor of Jey’s mom, Jey is collecting heart healthy recipes that will culminate in a blog round up similar to mine, with her donation going to the American Heart Association.  You can read and Jey’s event and her mom here.

I was happy to participate in this event.  Most of the recipes on my blog are “heart healthy” but I wanted to be sure to pick something really special for Jey.

I decided to play off the idea of a beating heart by making something with beets.

Beet chips!  No, they aren’t potpurri, although they look like some sweet smelling flower petals.  These are a heart healthy, and easy, snack to whip up when you have the munchies.  They taste great without salt (if you have a heart condition) and are slightly sweet.

They are a heart-healthy side dish to a sandwich!

One Year Ago: Pasta with Spicy Cauliflower and Walnuts
Two Years Ago: Spaghetti and Wheatballs

Beet Chips
2 beets

Preheat oven to 250*.  Wash, peel, and slice beets.  Make sure the slices are very thin (I used my mandoline slicer).  Arrange beet slices on a cooling rack over a baking sheet.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Turn oven off and leave beet chips inside to cool completely, about 1 hour.  Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 4:02 pm

    I love beets and these are going on my list of things to try. They remind me of the old show Doug on Nickelodeon when they would eat beets with their burgers because they are “nature’s candy.” Can’t wait to try it.

  2. February 19, 2011 6:20 pm

    1) I love beet chips
    2) I got a comment on my blog from a jessica to enter this, but she left no information on how to contact her. Do you think Jessica = Jey?

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      February 19, 2011 6:41 pm

      Yep, Jey = jessica. I think you should just submit that heart dedicated post you wrote a few days ago.

  3. February 19, 2011 8:08 pm

    BEETS! Well, aren’t we just on the same page?! :)
    Gotta try this recipe – I know my husband would love it.

  4. February 19, 2011 8:11 pm

    Those are beautiful. Thanks for your support!

  5. Lenn permalink
    February 20, 2011 2:25 am

    I love these, I make them all the time. I also add beets to my vegetarian chilli and to whatever stir fry I make. It always gives a delecious taste to any meal. (Well, haven´t tried it in a sweet meal yet:)

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      February 20, 2011 7:31 am

      Well keep your eyes out on my blog, because I have another beautiful beet creation coming. I’ve added beets to my chili before as well. They are under appreciated!

  6. February 20, 2011 10:41 am

    How healthy can you get!? This is AWESOME. I definitely need to add this to my list of things to make!

  7. February 21, 2011 9:25 pm

    Your beet chips look so good! Nice and thin and crispy. I’m planning another round this week (after the first fail) and I was going to try “dehydrating” them like I did with eggplant recently – warm setting, overnight in the oven.

Trackbacks

  1. Smart Heart Round Up! | The Jey of Cooking.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

