Skip to content

A classic: Beans and Rice

February 6, 2009

I could eat this for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.  I have eaten it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  I guess I got hooked on beans and rice when I was in Nicaragua, studying howler monkeys, and offered little else to eat.

dscf0018

The proportions for my recipe are always different.  They vary by what veggies are in the fridge, how much rice I have, and what grains are lying around.  Great additions to this dish (served hot or cold) are corn, zucchini, and onions, along with raisins, pinto beans or black beans.  I usually spice this meal with cumin, oregano, chili powder, and possibly a pepper in adobo if I’m feeling sassy.

cp-female-stretched

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 12:09 pm

    Mmm, this looks really tasty!

Trackbacks

  1. Vegetarians and their protein « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

