Skip to content

Bulgur with apples

February 7, 2009

I admit it.  I read cookbooks like novels.  I’ve been known to grab my favorite cookbook, head to the gym, and ellipticize away while perusing recipes and brainstorming dinner plans.  

It was during one of these stints when I came across this recipe.  I was intrigued by this bulgur pilaf because it called for a beaten egg to be mixed with the grain before boiling.  Hmmm.  I made this pilaf, and although the recipe recommends serving it with pork, duck, or chicken, it complemented by seasoned chickpeas and seasonal vegetables sauteed in oregano magnificently!

imgp0310

Bulgur (Kasha) with Apples (from Barnes and Nobles Essentials of Cooking)

1 tart green apple, peeled, cored, and diced

1 large egg, beaten

1 cup bulgur

2 cups stock

salt and pepper

In a medium nonstick pan, add apple with nonstick spray and cook until tender and lightly browned.  Set aside.  Add the bulgur to the pan and pour the beaten egg over the grain.  Stir often until the egg is set.  This will take about 3 minutes.  Add the stock and bring mixture to a simmer.  Cover tightly and reduce heat.  Cook until liquid is absorbed (15 minutes).  Stir in the reserved apple and cook 1 more minute.  Serve warm.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Judy Davis permalink
    February 10, 2009 8:49 am

    I love the recipes, I’m always looking for vegan recipes to try. My favorite parts involves your description of the mixer, that made me laugh out loud. The pictures are terrific, thanks for the tips and hope you are doing well, Judy

Leave a Reply

