Skip to content

Wheatballs

February 19, 2009

Every vegetarian deserves a meatball grinder, a plate o’ spaghetti and meatballs, or bowl of Italian Wedding Soup every now and then.  I don’t let the fact that all of these meals traditionally contain ground meat.  Who needs meatballs when you can have wheatballs?

My normal recipe for meat-substitute in ball form (wow, what a weird statement) is from Veganomicon.  Their recipe for “beanballs” is very, very good.  I, however, was looking for a recipe that could stand up to soup better for my Italian Wedding Soup and came up with this one.  I based the ingredients off of many seitan/meat substitute recipes I’ve seen in the past.

Ingredients (Seitan/bean/wheatballs)

1/2 cup beans *I only use dry beans and happened to only have black beans cook when I made this recipe, but I think red beans (kidney, pinto) might be more appropriate

2 t minced garlic

1/2 T italian seasoning

2 dashes Worcestershire Sauce

1/3 + 1 T Vital Wheat Gluten

1.5 T Nutritional Yeast

1/4 + 1 T water

tin foil

Mash beans.  Add ingredients and form into balls.  Wrap balls in tin foil squares and steam 30 minutes.

imgp0709The term “wheatmeat” is a nickname that many vegans use for seitan, the high protein meat-substitute that many Asian cultures have included in their diets for centuries. Vital Wheat Gluten is the main component of these recipes, providing the meat like texture and the majority of the protein.

imgp0714Steaming the seitan
2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2009 12:28 pm

    Wow – this is pretty neat and I love that you made this with beans!! I’ll have to check out the store for gluten and yeast… I love seitan and this would be fun to make at home!

Trackbacks

  1. Spaghetti and Wheatballs « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

