Skip to content

Bulgur Pilaf with yogurt

February 22, 2009

I broke the rule on this one.  When I served up the omnivore’s plate, he looked at this dish and said “What’s the white stuff?”

imgp0864

I responded, per our usual rule (the don’t-tell-me-what’s-in-it-until-I’ve-eaten-it rule), “I can’t tell you that.  You won’t eat it.”  

So, halfway through our meal, the omnivore obviously enjoying the white stuff, I proclaim, “It’s yogurt.”

His face immediately looked like this:

(I don’t know who this lady is, I just found her picture on google.  If this is you, and you don’t like me posting your mug here, then let me know, and I’ll take it down)

Luckily, since I was thoroughly enjoying the bulgur pilaf myself, the omnivore’s disgust had subsided by the end of the meal and he proclaimed this dish to be his favorite part of our Slumdog Feast.

Bulgur Pilaf (serves 4, B&N Essentials of Cooking)

1 small onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/3 bulgur

3 cups stock or water

salt

cayenne pepper

1/4 cup freshly chopped parsley

3 T lemon juice

2/3 cup plain yogurt, for serving

Directions

Spray a medium frying pan (with lid) with non-stick cooking oil.  Add onion and cook until golden brown, about 6 minutes.  Add garlic and continue cooking for 1 additional minute.  Stir in bulgur.  

And 1.5 cups stock and season with salt and a pinch of cayenne pepper.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and cover.  Cook for 10 minutes.  Add remaining liquid, cover, and cook 10 more minutes.

Remove from heat, stir, and cover the pan with a clean dish towel, placing lid on top of draped towel.  Let steam.  Bulgur grains will separate.  After 10 minutes, add lemon juice and parsley.  Serve warm or cold with yogurt on the side (or folded in).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2009 7:56 pm

    Mmm, I love the idea of serving the bulgur with the yogurt. I love pretty much anything with a yogurt dollop. We’ve been eating a ton of bulgur lately, too.

  2. February 23, 2009 8:41 am

    Mmm – what a great pairing! I wonder if that pic of that person will ever contact you – lol!

Trackbacks

  1. A Slumdog Feast « Branny Boils Over
  2. Your brother-in-law’s girlfriends mom is a Vegetarian « Branny Boils Over
  3. The Origin of “The Rule” « Branny Boils Over
  4. My Omnivore is a kid at heart « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

