Skip to content

Mediterranean Pasta with Limas and Olives

February 26, 2009

Recipes with titles like this one baffle me.  I mean, you see a title to a recipe that sounds fantastic in Cooking Light, and you think “Great.  I love lima beans and olives,” and then you go on to see that all a other ingredients like tomatoes, onions, and cauliflower are involved.  And you then notice the presence of mushrooms and zucchini… 

What makes Limas and Olives so important as ingredients that they deserve to be named in the post title?  Why not highlight the cauliflower?  No one ever gives that old veggie any press.  Maybe it is just because it is so…white.  Personality-less.  Non-imposing.  Who knows?

But I have a reason I chose to called this dish Mediterranean Pasta with LIMAS and OLIVES.  My reasoning is that I suspect that some people might find these two ingredients more objectionable than the others.  If so, just go ahead, leave my blog right now.  You are excused.  I mean, everyone expects there to be a couple of diced tomatoes and onions in a pasta recipes.  Those ingredients are almost as essential as the water in which you are boiling the pasta.  LIMAS and OLIVES, on the other hand, are a bit more exotic.  

So, that leaves LIMAS and OLIVES. to be the end-all-be-all as to whether or not you make this recipe.  In my case, it makes LIMAS and OLIVES the reason I won’t be able to get this dish off my mind until I devour the leftovers.

imgp0920If you pretend not to see that annoying cling-on attached to the side of the bowl, then I’ll pretend I didn’t smear it all over my t-shirt while eating dinner.

Mediterranean Pasta with Limas and Olives (serves 2 for dinner, w/ leftovers for lunch)

4 oz whole grain rotini pasta

1 can diced tomatoes

1 zucchini, sliced and cut into half moons

1 sweet onion, thinly sliced

3 mushrooms, sliced

1/2 cup frozen lima beans

1 cup cauliflower florets

1 tiny can of black olives

1/2 t garlic salt

2 t oregano

1 t majoram

1/2 t lemon pepper

1 T lemon juice

Cheese of your choice for topping (feta, parmesan)

Add pasta and frozen lima beans to boiling water.  Saute onions and zucchini until tender-crisp.  Add oregano, marjoram, garlic salt, and lemon pepper.  Add diced tomatoes and cauliflower.  Simmer until the cauliflower is soft.  Just as pasta is reaching al dente, add mushrooms and olives.  Toss sauce/veggies with drained pasta/lima beans.  Stir in lemon juice.  Top with a bit of feta cheese or parmesan and enjoy!



2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2009 9:03 pm

    That looks so good! I’ll have to give that a shot sometime soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Spicy Black Beans and Spinach With Masa Dumplings « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

