Skip to content

Old School Latkes

March 2, 2009

So you’ve stumbled into my blog in search of a real, authentic, potato-y, latke recipe to serve upside your sauerkraut and brats.  Unfortunately, I’ve let you down.  That side dish, my friends, would be Old WORLD Latkes.  These are Old School Latkes.  They are deliciously crisp on the outside and soft on the inside and contain not a single potato.

imgp1127

Remember my commentary on the Food Processor?  Well, never again will I EVER take for granted my mean-green-shredding-machine.  

You see, there has been a casualty in the home of BrannyBoilsOver and we’ve had to go Old SCHOOL with our shredding techniques.  Yes.  We had to implement the box grater for this dish.

Exhibit A:

imgp1085

It looks as if this adapter for my shredding blade on my food processor has been gnawed by a carnivore.  

And I just happen to have two carnivores running around the house.

Exhibits B and C: 

blue-flo-hallow-best1Meet the resident carnivores.

And I’ll admit it, I have a suspicion about which one of these oh-so-innocent-beasts is NOT the culprit:

flo-haloween-over-2

and who probably is the culprit:

blue-halloween-2007

I am sure you have your suspicions as well.

But, in all seriousness, anyone who knows me in real life (yes, on occasion, I DO leave the the computer world to interact with real people) knows that these carnivores are actually very docile.  And they’d never have committed the crime.  They know better than to even set foot inside the kitchen.  

Shame on me for leading you down that path of accusation.

It was actually an attack of the dishwasher.  Launched from the safety of the silverware basket and into the whirlwind of the dishwasher, the poor adapter was gnawed alive.  Never fear, we’ve got a new one on order.  Moving on to the recipe.

Zucchini Carrot Latkes (6 latkes)

1 zucchini, shredded

1 carrot, peeled and shredded

garlic salt

2 T whole wheat flour

1 egg white, beaten

fine bread crumbs mixed with dried oregano and basil 

Shred the veggies and sprinkle with garlic salt.  Spread the shreds on a clean kitchen towel to remove as much moisture as possible from the vegetables.  Let them dry approximately 30 minutes, shuffling the shreds around once.  I always put the towel in the fridge.  

Once dry, add the veggies to a bowl and incorporate the egg white.  Add the flour to form a dough.  You may need to increase the flour amounts depending on how much water your vegetables retained.  

Form into latkes and coat both sides with bread crumbs.  Let chill in the refrigerator for 15 or more minutes.  Preheat the oven to 350* and heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat stove-top.  Spray with nonstick oil and lightly fry each side of the latke until brown.  Shift latkes to a baking sheet and bake in the oven for approximately 20 minutes, until delicious.  

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Durve2008 permalink
    March 2, 2009 3:48 pm

    This had me cracking up!! I love your blog- and this was GREAT with your dogs. We know the feeling…they will eat anything!! 🙂

  2. March 3, 2009 11:33 am

    Congrats branny, I’ve awarded you the Lemonade and Fabulous awrds, check out my latest post for details 🙂

  3. March 4, 2009 12:01 pm

    Your dogs are adorable! And the latkes look delicious.

Leave a Reply

