Skip to content

Aloo Matar

March 12, 2009

dscf0012_2I like to plan the omnivore and my meals for the week.  The initial effort is certainly worth the ease when it comes in handy on a late midweek night like tonight, when I made it home just in the nick of time on the scooter to avoid the impending rainstorm.   

Yes, readers, that there is a fist-pump of victory.  Go ahead, laugh.  I’m a scooter-riding-liberal and I’m happy about it.

Anyway, this evening, having scooted (scat?) into the garage as the thunder clouds rolled in, I got straight to the kitchen because I had a plan.  The omnivore had dutifully popped a couple of potatoes in the oven when he got home from work, so the battle for tonight’s dinner was half-way won.

Aloo Matar (adapted from Jenny’s Cooking Adventures)

–Similar to our Slumdog Feast I have absolutely no idea if this recipe is authentic or not.I really should start ordering all these Indian dishes I make at the restaurants so I can compare.  

–Also, the addition of chickpeas or some other source of protein could make this dish a fantastic one-pot meal.

2 medium onions, coarsely chopped
1 tablespoon ginger/garlic paste (3 cloves of garlic mixed with 1.5 tspn ginger powder)
1 large baking potato, peeled if desired and chopped
1 cup frozen peas
2 large tomatoes, coarsely chopped
1/2 tablespoon cumin
salt to taste
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon garam masala
3/4 cup water or cream (more indulgent!)

imgp1431This is how long I cooked my tomatoes and onions before pureeing.  If you don’t like raw garlic, you could saute it with these veggies instead of chopping it raw.

1. Peel the potatoes and steam until tender, cool, then chop into large chunks.
3. Warm the oil in large pan and saute the tomatoes and onions in the warmed oil for about 5 minutes.
4. In food processor, puree the garlic cloves with the ginger powder and add remaining dry spices.
5. Puree the onion and tomato mixture in a blender until smooth, adding water or cream.
6. Pour the sauce over potatoes in a pot, add peas, and then cook on the stove for about 10 minutes.

imgp1451As you can see, I did not peel my potatoes, but I encourage you to do so.  This was a delicious side dish along with some yummy chopped vegan steak and sauteed zucchini.  Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2009 3:11 pm

    this looks so yummy! we just tried aloo matar in a box from Trader Joe’s earlier this week and M and i really liked it. she will be thrilled when i tell her i’ve found a from scratch recipe!

Leave a Reply

