Skip to content

Uni-tasker be damned!

March 16, 2009

imgp1562

I fully ascribe to Alton’s avoidance of uni-taskers in the kitchen.  Why waste the materials, money, and storage space for an item that does one-and-only-one-task?  This concept is totally in line with my lifestyle.

But, boy do I like my waffles, both the traditional round ones and the heart-shaped ones that come out of my bright pink waffle maker gifted to me on Valentine’s Day.  Okay, I’m kidding about the second waffle maker.  

But in all honesty, I can’t make stovetop rice to save my life, so I really appreciate my ricemaker.  If I use it very often does it make it alright to have such a unitasker in the kitchen, Master Alton?

I did get rid of the Omnivore’s margarita maker, avocado slicer, and and orange juicer when we moved in together.  Hopefully that redeems me a bit.

Anywho…Master Alton (you do know who he is, right?  If not, abandon this post and tune into Food Network at 8pm on a weeknight and the resume reading) can no longer bash me for having my pasta roller because it has grown above and beyond simply pasta making. (But really, the fact that I picked it up at a thrift shop for $5 -new in antique, ripping, 1970s, box – makes it an acceptable uni-tasker!).  

Today, readers, we made flatbread.

imgp1538

I ripped this recipe  out of a magazine at the gym.  I admit it, I am one of those gym-goers.  But it was a January subscription!  If anyone else wanted it, they had plenty of time to rip it out before I came along.  So there.

And for you people who faithfully follow Alton Brown (more power to you!) and do not own a pasta maker or stand mixer attachment (or heart shaped layer cake mold and pumpkin-shaped ramekins), I’ve included instructions for the by-hand-method.

The original recipe (linked above) is double what’s listed below and also includes suggestions for a chickpea puree.

2 cups AP flour, + more for dusting
3/4 tsp sea salt
2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
3/4 cup warm water

At some point during my flatbread making I got adventurous and began adding poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and Italian herbs to the dough.  I encourage you to do the same.

Whisk together flour and salt and set aside. Combine yeast and 3/4 cup warm water and let sit until bubbly, about 5 minutes. Stir in 1 T olive oil and add flour/salt mixture.

Mix on low until a dough forms and then increase speed and mix for 2 minutes. Dough will be slightly sticky.

Divide dough into 2 or 3 balls and place on an oiled cookie sheet. Cover with oiled plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled (1-2 hours).

Preheat oven to 425*. Working with one doughball at a time (and keeping others covered), dust hands with flour and flatten ball between palms.

If using pasta machine: cut each ball in half and roll both parts through the rollers set at a midway position. Repeat, sprinkling with flour as necessary, gradually decreasing distance between rollers until you are able to pass dough through the 2nd to last setting. When finished, cut sheets in half on an angle.

If using your grimy hands: wash hands. Divide each ball into quarters and using a rolling pin on a floured surface, flatten sections into thin rectangular pieces.

Transfer dough to nonstick cookie sheets and brush lightly with olive oil. The original recipe says bake 14-16 minutes, switching pan positions halfway through the baking time, but mine were done after about 10 minutes so don’t stray far!

The next time I make this recipe, I’ll experiment with whole wheat flour and ground flax.  


3 Comments leave one →
  1. oneparticularkitchen permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:22 am

    Alton would be SO PROUD!!

Trackbacks

  1. Saint Paddy’s Potato Candy « Branny Boils Over
  2. Zesty Snack Crack(ers) « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

