Skip to content

Black Pepper Stuffing

March 25, 2009

Although I’ve been enjoying my Chugga Chugga loaf every morning with a poached egg, let’s face it, it’s a lot of bread. A lot of bread that is pretty short and stumpy and not exactly optimal for sandwiches. But boy is it tasty!

So I was trying to think of ways to use this loaf up before staleness and breadmold got the better of me (yep, let’s be honest, this stuff just doesn’t last like the scary storebought stuff).  I went through the natural motions…french toast?  Nope, too peppery.  Bread crumbs?  Nope, too delicious.  Bread Pudding?  Pass, too savory.  Bread Stuffing?  Check!

This is my first time attempting a stuffing recipe from scratch. Although we LOVE Thanksgiving (when stuffing is usually served) around here, we aren’t big on cooking the giant meal for 2 people, one of whom doesn’t eat meat.  So stuffing is rare in our world.  

imgp17871This is the best stuffing recipe I have ever had.  Unfortunately, I’ll probably never have it again.  Alas, the omnivore was not a fan and we spend enough time accommodating each other’s dietary preferences already (zucchini anyone?  Skip the filet mignon…) already, so I doubt I’ll be making this recipe again.

Black Pepper Bread Stuffing (3 servings)

1 small onion, diced
2 stalks celery, finely diced
1 garlic clove, minced
6 chunky slices bread (about 4 cups), left out to stale while you go the gym
1/2 T oregano
3/4 cup flavorful vegetable stock
butter to dot the top

-mushrooms would be a great addition, but the ‘vore doesn’t like them so I didn’t include them

– If I had a carrot, I would have used 1 carrot, 1 stalk celery

Gently cook onion, celery, and garlic over medium heat stove-top in a little olive oil until vegetables are translucent.  Add bread cubes, cut into a 1/2 inch dice, to skillet and toss to combine.  Add 1/2 cup of stock and stir to moisten.  Spread into a 9″x 5″ loaf pan, greased with cooking spray, and pouring in remaining 1/4 cup of broth.  Cook at 350* for 30 minutes.  Remove from oven, dot the top with butter, and return to oven to melt.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

