Skip to content

Zesty Snack Crack(ers)

March 26, 2009

imgp1810My workplace is GREAT.  

Here’s why: whether it is bringing an off-the-wall recipe to a potluck, or experimenting with potatoes in candy, or simply offing some baked goods, there are always people around to snatch up some homemade goodies.  I’ve been bringing in recipes weekly, so often, in fact, that the omnivore always asks me when I’m cooking “Can I have those or are they for work :(?”  

I have a few reputations at work.  And I indulge my coworkers in their judgements, I admit it.  

The first is that I’m a science dork.  I’ll wear that badge proudly.  I paid heftily for my science degrees, and I’m gonna use ’em, gosh darn it!  

The second reputation is that I am a healthnut.  Which I’m not, really.  But I am often throwing out terms like “vital wheat gluten” and “ground flax.”  And while some of my coworkers appreciate my substitutions in recipes, other coworkers have *ahem* other priorities in life (like avoiding vegetables, seriously).  Thus, they all appreciate a warning before diving into baked goods that may contain organic, healthy, or unusual ingredients. 

imgp1795

Smoky Chili Crackers (adapted from The King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion)

-makes 6 dozen crackers –

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup yellow cornmeal 
1.5 tablespoons tomato paste
1 tablespoon flax seed, ground (optional)
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
1/4 cup butter
1/4 tsp powdered garlic
Scant 1/2 cup water
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In food processor bowl, pulse together the flour, cornmeal, tomato powder (if you are using tomato paste do not add it just yet), flax seed, cumin, baking soda, salt, sugar, Tabasco sauce. Cut in the butter and tomato paste, then add enough water to make a workable dough.  Gather the dough into a ball and divide it into two pieces.

Working with one piece at a time, roll the dough on a lightly floured surface to 1/8 inch thickness (I used my pasta roller, again!). Cut it into squares and bake the crackers for 15 minutes. Remove them from the oven and cool on the pan. Store in an airtight container.

imgp1806

I think there are trends in the blogging world.  Everyone once in awhile, you see recipes that keep reappearing on food blogs.  I’ve seen Pioneer Woman’s Crash Hot Potatoes on about a-bazillion blogs (and I think that overload has actually kept me from making them…) and then there was a Soft Pretzel thing, and let us not forget Bakerella’s Cupcake Pops and the infamous Oreo Truffles.

Thanks to Amber I believe that this recipe will start such a trend.  These little crackers are addicting and mild in flavor.  The recipe is very adaptable, as I changed a significant amount from the original recipe and the results were still stellar.  I think next time I may experiment with adding chili powder or cayenne pepper for another subtle kick.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    March 27, 2009 9:45 am

    They look and sound great! I use to love having co-workers to eat up leftovers. Now my husbands co-workers benefit. Hmmm…I might have to get a pasta roller because I hate rolling things out.

  2. March 27, 2009 11:17 am

    I love the sign (haha), and the crackers look great too!

Leave a Reply

