Skip to content

Chicken scratch recipes

March 26, 2009

Deciphering illegible writing is not rare in a cook’s world.  This hobby is filled with passed-down recipes, stained note cards, and ripped cookbook pages.  Tonight I was staring at my recipe book, with such intensity that the omnivore suggested I needed reading glasses as I stood cursing my chicken scratch recipes.

imgp1764

It isn’t because my recipes are heir-loom drafts passed down from ages ago.  I didn’t get my cooking skills from my family, just ask my mother.  It is simply because I’m a messy person.  There, I said it.  And it bites me in the bum sometimes.  And it has my entire life (and you can ask my mother about that, too).  

So it was with great hope that I made this recipe, hoping the proper proportions had been decoded to make for a delicious meal. 

 

 

 

 

Lebanese Lentils and Rice

3/4 cup dried lentils
salt and pepper
4 cups water
1/2 c rice
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup tomato sauce
8 oz frozen green beans
1 T oregano
bay leaf

Cook lentils in salted water for 10 minutes and drain. Bring 4 cups of water to a boil and add lentils and rice. Reduce heat to medium and boil uncovered 10 minutes. Add tomato sauce, bayleaf, green beans, onion, and garlic and cook uncovered 15 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in oregano and cover.  Let stand 15 minutes before serving.

imgp1770

This recipe has simple, comforting flavors that work well as a side dish or a main dish.  It certainly doesn’t “wow you out of the park” but instead strikes you as a unique comfort-food with hearty flavors.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

