Skip to content

…Because I like Basmathi

March 28, 2009

I recently acquired a new kitchen tool: the ricer.  I had been on the lookout for one for quite some time, but wasn’t quite ready to commit.  So, as with all major decisions in life, I consulted the Omnivore:

Me: I’m thinking about getting a ricer.  It makes potatoes better.

‘vore: You aren’t making brown rice, are you?  Because I like basmathi rice.  WHITE basmathi rice.

Me: No.  I’m not making rice.  I want to buy a RICE-ERRRR.  It’s used in cooking.

‘vore: Oh, okay.  Yeah, get that.  (The omnivore is super-supportive of my cooking habits, so basically any query that may result in better food is answered with an emphatic YES)

Me: It’s like a big garlic press.  But for potatoes.  Keep your eyes out at the store.

imgp1828 ‘vore: Well, I like that garlic twist your aunt gave us for Christmas just fine.

Me: WE AREN’T TALKING ABOUT GARLIC!

vore: Oh, right, rice.  Just as long as it isn’t brown rice.  I don’t care about the fiber.  I like white.

Me: *gritting teeth* WE.ARE.HAVING.POTATOES.FOR.DINNER AND.I.AM.USING.A.RICE-ERRRRR

imgp1842

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2009 10:01 am

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. lee malerich permalink
    March 29, 2009 8:44 am

    how do you use the garlic twist anyway?

Trackbacks

  1. Egg-cellent Gnocchi « Branny Boils Over
  2. To the Omnivore: my apologies in advance « Branny Boils Over
  3. Gnocch, gnocch, gnocchi(n) on Heaven’s Door « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

