Skip to content

My mind is in the gutter

March 30, 2009

Forgive me.  My mind is the gutter, and I cannot get it out.  It’s like that bowling ball, repeatedly thrown by the weak-armed chicken-chested teenage boy trying to impress his crush, that just keeps veering to the right.  Gutter Ball.

I have been trying for 2 days to come up with a different title for this recipe.  And I just can’t.  I was always a mature kid.  You know, the little girl who is “3 going on 30 years old.”  I was never to be bothered by immature jokes, silly drawings, cartoons.

By the age of 4 I had my career goals narrowed down to three options: 

  1. Hair cut girl
  2. Swim lesson teacher
  3. Anesthesiologist

By the age of 6, I was saving for retirement.

Yet, somehow, despite my earnest efforts, I cannot come up with a title other than

Pea Pea Patties for this recipe:

imgp1879

Chick pea and Green Pea patties served with walnut couscous.

1/2 cup chick peas
1/4 cup peas(frozen), thawed
1/4 cup onions and celery, sauteed
1/4 cup bread crumbs
1/2 t cumin
1/4 t salt
1/4 t curry
1 T ground flax seed, + 1 T boiling water (Can substitute with 1 egg white))

Puree chick peas and thawed peas in food processor. Add sauteed veggies and bread crumbs. Transfer mixture to a bowl and incorporate ground flax seed (or, alternatively, beaten egg white), adding more bread crumbs if necessary. Form into patties and chill if desired (may be necessary if “dough” seems floppy). Pan fry using nonstick spray over medium-high heat for 2 min on each side to form crust. Place in oven and bake 20 minutes at 350*.

I baked my patties in the oven because I happened to be cooking some chicken for the omnivore. If your oven isn’t being used, just lower the stovetop temperature to low-medium and cook the patties longer per side.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 11:12 am

    I made these, as well, recently. They were very good! Yours look delicious!

Leave a Reply

