Skip to content

Welcome to my peep show

March 31, 2009
tags:

imgp2024 Hello, Ladies and Gents.  My name is Cottontail, Peter Cottontail.  But you can call me P.

I’d like to welcome you to my peep show.  I’m sure you’ll enjoy the affair.  I’ve got your new spring chick-a-dees, your old hens, and some chicks pulling some new tricks all for your amusement.  Settle in and enjoy the ride…

 

 

 

 

 

 

imgp2011

And you think the Octo-mom has it hard? I'm about to give birth to dodecatuplets

imgp1997

So these two chickens were trying to cross the road... Fred!!! Don't tell me that joke, it gives me nightmares!

imgp1990

Geeze, Edith, you told me to tell you if your new feathers looked good on you or not. What do you want me to do, lie? YES, Fred, LIE!

imgp2014

Why did I sign up to watch the peeps at Sunday school again? I can't tell one from another -- I'm going to send these chicks home with the wrong parents! ARGH! Never again.

imgp2005

You want a piece of me? 'Cause I'll give you one. I mean it.

imgp2046

Man, *those* peeps are loooooosers.

imgp2052

I've just *got* to get an appointment to get this growth checked out. This is out of control. Really.

Notes: These captions are not meant to offend anyone. Yes, the author of this blog has too much time on her hands. If you want to do something about it, feel free to contact her boss and tell her that she needs to work full-time :-p .

 Original recipe is by Martha Stewart, but lets get credit primarily to where I found it first, Erin’s Foodie Files.

Marshmallow for Piping
1 unflavored gelatin package (2 1/2 teaspoons)
1/3 cup cold water, for gelatin, plus 1/4 cup for syrup
1 cup sugar

In the bowl of an electric mixer, sprinkle gelatin over 1/3 cup cold water. Allow gelatin to soften, about 5 minutes.

In a small saucepan, combine 1/4 cup water and sugar, and stir over medium-high heat until sugar is dissolved. Stop stirring, and place a candy thermometer into sugar water; wipe sides of pan with a wet brush if sugar crystals have splattered up. Boil sugar until temperature reaches the soft-ball stage (238 degrees). This took me about 6 minutes.

Remove syrup from heat; add to softened gelatin. Using the whisk attachment of an electric mixer, hand-stir the mixture a few minutes to cool; place bowl on the mixer stand. Beat on medium high with the whisk attachment until soft peaks form and the marshmallow mixture holds shape, 8 to 10 minutes.

Transfer marshmallow mixture to a large (14-inch) pastry bag fitted with a 1/2 inch tip. Or, alternatively, put in a large zip-top freezer bag and snip the corner.

While making marshmallows, if batter seems to thicken or get lumpy, microwave the bag for 10 seconds and continue.

Making Peep Chicks!
1. Pipe an oval shape onto sugar, about 1 inch wide, tapering the end and pulling upward to finish with the tail.
2. For the head, pipe a mound on the end opposite the tail, about the width of the body, pushing toward the tail and up. Pull away from the head to form the beak.
3. Immediately sprinkle sugar over the entire surface of the chick. Allow a few minutes for the shape to set.
4. Make eyes with either royal icing, or cocoa powder mixed with water.

This post has been submitted to the Mostly Martha Event at Joelen’s Blog.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 3:42 pm

    lol!!! great post!

  2. March 31, 2009 3:54 pm

    LOL, too cute!!!!!

  3. March 31, 2009 4:06 pm

    AWWW!!! You did a great job! You’re peeps are TOO CUTE!

  4. Jenn permalink
    March 31, 2009 5:22 pm

    haha they are adorable!

  5. March 31, 2009 7:49 pm

    Very cute – nicely done!

  6. themilkmanswife permalink
    March 31, 2009 8:54 pm

    so cute! Love the post! 🙂

  7. March 31, 2009 10:56 pm

    Those are adorable!

  8. Melissa permalink
    April 1, 2009 1:07 pm

    Very cute! You are so creative!

  9. April 2, 2009 7:26 am

    I enjoyed the peep show! You’re hilarious. I love reading your blog!

  10. April 6, 2009 3:35 pm

    Ahh! How am I just now seeing this?!?!

    You’re too cute Branny! Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

