Skip to content

I’m starting a bad habit

April 2, 2009
tags: ,

The last time I visited with my dad, I brought him a loaf of freshly baked bread.  When I handed him the still-warm-loaf wrapped in paper, his eyes lit up.  He confessed, “I was hoping you’d bring me some bread.”

You see, my dad is a loyal follower of my blog (hi pops!), and, I must admit, a connoisseur of bread.   The man can demolish a bread basket in a minute and truly appreciates a good loaf.  And I know he appreciates a good loaf even more when it comes from his daughter’s kitchen.

So, I was throwing out ideas to the omnivore about what type of bread I might like to bake to bring my dad when we meet up this afternoon.  And my hubby gave me the following warning:

You don’t want to start a bad habit here.  Your dad is going to expect freshly baked bread every time he sees you!

I’m still trying to figure out what part of this scenario is “bad.”  Any insight on this one, Dad?

imgp1955

Oven Honey Wheat Bread (adapted from LovesToEat Foodblog)

1 (.25 ounce) package rapid rise yeast (2 1/4 t)
1/2 teaspoon agave nectar (sub with 1 t sugar)
1/2 cup warm water
1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup melted butter
2 T honey
2 teaspoons salt (I left this out!)
2 cups whole wheat flour
3 + cups bread flour
1 T vital wheat gluten

Dissolve yeast and agave nectar in 1/2 cup warm water.

Combine milk, 1/4 cup water, butter, honey, salt and wheat flour in bowl of stand mixer. Add yeast mixture, and let rest 15 minutes. Add white flour, and process until dough forms a ball.  Thanks to the humidity of where I live, I was forced to add 1/2 cup extra flour, 1 T at a time.  Don’t be scared if your dough seems too wait.  Just add flour in increments. 

Knead dough 5 minutes in mixer.  Place the dough in a buttered bowl, and turn to coat. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Let dough rise for 45 minutes, or until almost doubled.

At this point, I divided my dough into two masses: 2/3 of the dough and 1/3 of the dough.  I separate the 1/3 recipe portion into small balls (15 of them) and placed them by 3s into a muffin tin.  This formed the clover-leaf type buns you see above.  I left them to double in size and then baked them at 375* for 16 minutes.

I placed the other 2/3 of the dough in my Pullman Loaf pan and baked it for 20 minutes with the lid on, and then 7 minutes without the lid, until the internal temperature reached 190*.

And with this recipe, and my Pullman Pan, I was able to succeed at something never-before-achieved in my kitchen: a loaf of bread fit for a sandwich (well, actually, I’ve made a bazillion loaves of bread fit for sandwiches in my kitchen, but the omnivore disagrees):

imgp1986Yes!  This is a tunafish sandwich.  And that means only one thing (because only one person in this household eats meat): WE’VE MADE SANDWICH BREAD, and to put it as the omnivore did, “And it’s not even WHITE!”  (He’s referring to the type of flour, you see, not the toasted quality of these two particular slices.)

 

Alternatively, you could follow LovestoEat’s directions for 9″x5″ loaves:

Punch down, and divide dough in half. Roll out each half, and pound out the bubbles. Form into loaves, and place in buttered 9×5 inch bread pans. Butter the tops of the dough, and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm area until doubled; second rise should take about 30 minutes.

Place a small pan of water on the bottom shelf of the oven. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, or until tops are dark golden brown. Butter crusts while warm. Slice when cool.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 12:33 pm

    This looks great! I’m going to have to try this recipe. I’m having the hardest time finding the perfect sandwich bread recipe.

  2. April 2, 2009 12:49 pm

    now I need to make this, your dad is a lucky man!

  3. April 2, 2009 3:03 pm

    I think this is a great habit! Nothing better than warm bread out of the oven!

  4. Dad permalink
    April 4, 2009 4:04 pm

    Heck, I thought the omnivore was my buddy. I agree with you my dear, i like the way you think ….continue with the dough.
    ….and thanks NIki, I am lucky.

Leave a Reply

