Skip to content

I like tofu just fine, TYVM

April 6, 2009

Honestly?  I don’t really like to eat tofu.  That isn’t the same as not liking tofu, mind you.  I like it just fine.  How could you not?  It tastes like, well, whatever you want it to taste like.  Pretty blank slate.  If you’ve eaten out with me at asian restaurants or hip vegetarian joints in college towns, you’ve heard me say “86 the tofu.” 

My ambivalence towards this soy-wonder stems from my biochemical background.  Knowledge is not power for me in this instance, knowledge is paralyzing.  I got my education about soy products in my environmental chemistry class in college.  And then I read this book .

imgp2101

Anywho, I probably dive into this stuff 5 or less times a year.  Usually is because someone has very thoughtfully provided me with a vegetarian option at some event (thanks!) or I’m in a restaurant and the order accidentally comes out soy-laden.  I won’t refuse the meal.  Like I said, I like tofu just fine.

I had about 1/2 lb of the processed white stuff leftover after making the Mac Daddy.  And this is how I used it up: the recipe and method below is a great starting point for anyone venturing into the world of tofu.

Braising Sauce (Veganomicon)
1/4 cup water
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 T lemon juice
2 T soy sauce

Slice the tofu into 1/2″ thick slabs.  Press liquid out, if desired.  Mix all the ingredients for the braising sauce together in a small bowl.  Preheat broiler.  When hot spray a thin layer of olive oil over an oven-safe dish.  Dip tofu slabs in braising liquid and then place into the pan.  Put the pan under the broiler for 10 minutes.  Remove from the broiler and pour a few spoonfuls of the liquid over the tofu and return to the broiler for 3 minutes.  Take your beano at this time.  Yes, this stuff makes you flatulent.  Repeat with remaining braising liquid and cook for a final 3 minutes.  Tofu will be golden brown.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 3:23 pm

    I am also a little scared of soy. People always think I am nuts. I maybe have tofu once/month, and I avoid soy milk. I am glad there is someone else out there like me! 🙂

  2. April 6, 2009 4:54 pm

    I love tofu…. I have never cooked it this way so I’ll have to try it! I usually pan fry it until it is crispy and golden, and then make some sort of sauce. Thanks for sharing!

  3. April 6, 2009 10:37 pm

    I’ll have to check out that book some time. Is it gonna scare me away from tofu?

  4. April 7, 2009 10:05 am

    I think soy in moderation is probably fine, like everything else.
    I share your disdain at tofu being the veggie substitute. People are so uncreative and just replace whatever protein with tofu, when they could do something interesting and exciting instead.

  5. lee malerich permalink
    April 7, 2009 7:46 pm

    is everybody just skimming the directions here? i have no beano in my kitchen and now i am stuck! i have to go out for ingredients! baaah!

    anybody else have this problem? which problem?

Trackbacks

  1. Kale storm « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

