Skip to content

Ok, okay, so my French accent stinks

April 7, 2009

I was on the phone with my mother as I was preparing this dish.  I was trying to be as quiet as possible, but when it comes to me, my food processor, and the ridiculous method I store all the blades, bowls, and adapters for the thing, quietness is quite an impossibility.

It was becoming painfully obvious in the conversation that my attention was split between my mom’s goings-on and the goings-on in my kitchen.  Finally, in the most eloquent way possible, my mom addressed the elephant in the room  the cacophony over the phone line.

Mom: So, what are you making?

Me: I’m making *insert French accent here* Lentil and Broccoli Gratin.

Mom: What was that last word!? 

Me, feeling defeated: GRAT-IN.

Mom, recognizing exactly what I was saying once I abandoned my French spin in favor my southern twang: Oh.  GRAT-INNNN.

Hmph.  Well my French accent stinks, but my French cooking (is this really french?) rocks.

imgp2136

 (adapted from Vegetarian Mother & Baby by Rose Elliot)

1 c red lentils (any color works, really)
1 Lg onion, peeled & chopped
1/4 tsp ground ginger
12 ounces broccoli, washed, trimmed, divided into florets
juice and grated rind of 1 lemon
salt and freshly ground pepper
soft bread crumbs

Put the lentils into a saucepan with 2 1/2 cups of water, bring to a boil, then let simmer for 20-30 minutes, until they are soft and pale.  Meanwhile, heat some veg. broth or water in a saucepan, add the onion and ginger, and cook for 10 minutes, uncovered, so that they brown a bit, stirring from time to time.

Steam the broccoli until just tender, then put in a shallow gratin dish.  Put the lentils into a food processor or blender with the onion mixture and the lemon and blend until a smooth puree. It should have the consistency of heavy cream; add some water or veg. broth if it is too thick.

imgp2119Is that heavy cream or pureed lentils!?  Is it baby food!?  

Season, then pour this puree evenly over the broccoli.  Sprinkle the bread crumbs over the top.  Put into an oven at 350-400 degrees F for 30-40 minutes.



5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    April 7, 2009 7:31 pm

    mmm yum! one of my weaknesses is broccoli and cheese, and this looks great!

  2. April 7, 2009 7:44 pm

    In my mind you were saying it “guh-haaaah-tin”.

    Did I nail the accent?!

    If not, what do you expect? I’m from Iowa. 😉

  3. April 8, 2009 7:42 am

    Anything covered in cheese is good in my book! Looks great Branny!

  4. Jenn permalink
    April 8, 2009 5:46 pm

    lol ok no cheese, but it sure does look like it!

  5. Bethany permalink
    November 15, 2009 10:37 pm

    Yours looks way prettier than mine. I used regular brown lentils and it kinda looked like something from my cat’s litter box. I guess aesthetics do matter. 😉

Leave a Reply

