Skip to content

It may not be authentic, but it sure is good!

April 8, 2009

I’ve never eaten an enchilada in a Mexican restaurant.  Or a chimichanga.  I really don’t know what the difference is between a burrito or a tostito.  Wait.  Tostito is a brand of chips, right?  Ahh Tostinos.  Waitnope.  That’s just really nasty frozen pizza.

Maybe I mean tostada.

Anyway, enchiladas look like burritos that I eat in the mexican restaurants.  And this kind of boggles my mind because where I come from, you can eat burritos with your hands, but every Mexican restaurant burrito I’ve ordered would become quite a mess if I tried to pull that off.  Same with the enchiladas.  Are they just mini-messy-burritos?

So, due to my bad education regarding proper Mexican cuisine, the Omnivore and I have come up with new definitions.  Around here, if something is wrapped in a tortilla, covered in sauce, and necessitates a knife and a fork, it’s an enchilada.  Period.

There are no such things as tostadas in this household.  Nor are there chimichangas.  Just burritos (to be eaten with your hands) and enchiladas (saucy goodness).

I’ve got a few other varieties of enchiladas in my blog: here and here.  Funny how I can have three recipes for a dish that I’m still pretty vague about.

imgp2095Don’t you just love how shredded cabbage makes everything pretty?  

Green Chile Enchiladas (odd proportions are due to the fact that I added 1/2 the filling + chicken to the Omnivore’s tortillas; feel free to double recipe for ease)

3 whole grain tortillas
3 cups spinach, lightly packed
1/2 onion, sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 can green chiles
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp cumin
1 c shredded white cheese (Monterey or Pepperjack), optional
mild green chile enchilada sauce

Saute onion and garlic clove in a nonstick skillet.  Add spices and fold spinach in, 1 cup at a time, to let it wilt.  Finally, add your can of green chiles and remove from heat.  

In a 9×13 glass baking dish, spread 1/3 can of your green chile enchilada sauce.

Microwave each tortilla, lightly spritzed with water, for 20 seconds to make pliable.  Place 1/3 of the filling in the tortilla, with 1/4 cup cheese, if desired, and roll.  Repeat with remaining ingredients, placing in the baking dish.

imgp20771 Be sure to arrange the enchiladas strategically to avoid contamination with the Omnivore’s meat containing imposters.

Top with remaining sauce and cheese (if desired).  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  Garnish with cabbage and scallions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. oneparticularkitchen permalink
    April 8, 2009 6:48 pm

    How pretty is that plate?? These look great, Branny!

  2. April 8, 2009 7:07 pm

    Are you picking a fight with my favorite brand of pizza (ala college years)?!?! 😉

    This looks yummy though!

  3. April 9, 2009 6:41 am

    This looks good! I don’t light ground meat and most Mexican food has it so this is a must try for me.

Leave a Reply

