Skip to content

Marriage is about compromise

April 15, 2009

Remember your wedding reception?  When your guests, just a little buzzed after the Champagne Toast, filed to the stage microphone, when prompted by the band-leader (who was probably itchin’ for a set break), to give their best advice regarding marriage?

And then, remember the days after your Honeymoon, when you read through the Guestbook you had placed at the entrance to your ceremony, and the inscriptions people scrawled all over your “memory matte” that you planned to frame with your favorite wedding photo?

You got the following two statements from most everyone who was drunk brave enough to approach the mic at the reception and from everyone whose handwriting was legible enough to read:

  1. Marriage is about compromise.
  2. Choose your battles.

Every Saturday morning I grab the grocery list and hit the *ahem*3*ahem*grocery* stores where I do our shopping.  While perusing the list for the Omnivore’s additions (because lets face it: I buy the same staples every week…the list really consists of the Omnivore’s desires), sometimes I run across items such as this:

Hotdog Buns (white)

99% of the time, I head to the bread aisle and grab whole wheat buns.  When I come home, the Omnivore, 99% of the time, doesn’t say a word.  This is an example of practicing rule # 2: Choose your battles.

I, on the other hand, most often abide by rule # 1: Compromise. “Why?”, you ask.  Well, fundamental to the art of compromise is just a little bit of argument.  And, what can I say, I’m a fiery sort of girl.  So, with rule #1, I get to have my way and argue my point just a little.  This makes me happy.

The follow recipe is me practicing rule #1.  I want my husband to be healthy.  Strong.  Vivacious. Whole wheat bread is part of the path to such an existence — in my opinion, at least.  Not in the Omnivore’s, though.  So, in keeping with rule #2, I made this bread: imgp2346

The website from which I adapted this calls this “spiral wheat loaf.”  That title is about as appetizing as “boiled beef and potatoes.”  Doesn’t exactly get those salivary glands working, does it?

In this household, however, this bread is referred to as Compromise Bread. You want white bread; I’ll give you white bread. But for every bite of white, some wheat you will eat.

Like I said, I choose rule # 1 because I enjoy a little fight.

White Dough
2 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
3/4 cup milk

Wheat Dough
1 1/4 cups King Arthur 100% White Whole Wheat Flour
*original recipe called for 1 1/2 cups. It was raining this morning. And I live in the arm-pit of the USA (read: humid) and I still used less flour than called for. Be careful here.
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast
2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 teaspoons vital wheat gluten
1/2 cup milk

Prepare the white and wheat doughs separately, mixing and then kneading till smooth. Allow them to rise for 1 hour.  At this point, I realized this recipe is not written for beginner bread bakers.  If you are just learning, add your liquids (room temp or warmer, but less than 110 degrees) to your mixing bowl along with sugar and yeast.  Allow yeast to proof.  Add salt and butter.  Add flour incrementally.

imgp2277

Roll each piece of dough into a 12 x 12-inch square. I rolled this out and then cut them down to 8.5″ squares since that is the size of my loaf pan.  I had dough leftover for a mini-loaf.

imgp2281

Brush the white dough with part of a beaten egg, center the wheat dough atop it, and brush the wheat dough with beaten egg. Roll up like a log, pinching the seam and ends closed.  I rolled one loaf with the white bread on the outside and one with the wheat dough on the outside.  The wheat dough is not easy to work with.  It is a dry, rather inflexible dough that would rather tear than stretch.  Be patient.

imgp2284imgp2288

I asked the Omnivore what the photo on the right looked like to him.  His response was “the moon?”  At that point, due to what I thought the photo resembled, I promptly felt like a 13 year old boy.  And kept those thoughts to myself.

Place the dough in a lightly greased sandwich pan, and cover the pan. Allow the bread to rise for about 45 minutes, or until it’s filled the pan and crowned about 1 inch over the rim.

Preheat oven to 415°F, and bake for 15 minutes. Reduce the heat to 350°F, and bake for an additional 10 minutes. Test for doneness with an instant-read thermometer (190 degrees means you’re done!) or tap the underside of the bread and listen for a hollow sound.  Cool before slicing.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 11:42 am

    So cute! I love it!!!

  2. April 15, 2009 1:23 pm

    Wow..that’s pretty cool looking bread!!

  3. April 15, 2009 1:34 pm

    What a great idea…and it is pretty too!

  4. joelen permalink
    April 15, 2009 2:38 pm

    What a great combo for bread!!

  5. April 15, 2009 3:32 pm

    It’s so cute – what a great idea! I think it’s great you sneak in the whole wheat hot dog buns!

  6. April 15, 2009 5:52 pm

    Very cute! Looks delicious too!

  7. lee malerich permalink
    April 16, 2009 10:02 am

    ok, so what did you think the “moon” looked like?

  8. April 16, 2009 12:58 pm

    Aww, that’s so sweet of you. The bread looks gorgeous by the way!

  9. April 20, 2009 11:13 am

    wow! That looks amazing!

  10. April 29, 2009 10:05 am

    haha.. “the moon” that makes me laugh. Love the blog! THis bread is so cute too bad it wasnt very good!

  11. Sara permalink
    January 8, 2010 5:40 pm

    Love the story, and what a beautiful bread!

Trackbacks

  1. No Milk, No Eggs? No Problem. Chocolate cake! « Branny Boils Over
  2. Random grocery list additions « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

