Skip to content

I dare you to eat this

April 17, 2009

People will eat the weirdest things on a dare.  What is it about peer pressure and the expectation that you might *not* do something that will force you to momentarily go insane?

I actually found a list on the web of items people eat on dares.  I’ve posted it here for your perusal:

1. Worm
2. Boogers
3. Dirt
4. Rocks
5. Vegetables
6. something off the floor
7. Bugs
8. glue
9. Poop
10. Dog food and treats
11. Peppers

I’m not going to admit to how many of these things I’ve eaten even when not on a dare, and you shouldn’t either.

So, how would you respond if I dared you to eat this: imgp2333From left to right: a giant jalapeno pepper (that was a decision I regretted), sesame seeds, raisins, garlic, chocolate powder, tomatoes, almonds.  What am I getting us into?

What if I dared you to eat this?

imgp2339

Stop looking at the burritos in the back.  Focus on the sauce.  The Mole sauce.  Areeba!  Good thing this is the version of the sauce the Omnivore saw.  If he had seen it in the pre-pureed form, he’d have been outta here.

Mole Sauce (variations found here and here)

1 can (14 1/2 oz size) diced tomatoes
1/2 cup chopped onions
1/4 cup slivered almonds, toasted
2 cloves garlic, quartered
2 canned jalapeno peppers, drained
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
3 tablespoons raisins
1 tablespoon sesame seeds
1 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground coriander

Puree all ingredients in the food processor and simmer stove-top 20 minutes.  Serve over veggies, burritos, or anything needing a spicy flare.

I am entering this recipe into the Food Films Event at Joelen’s Blog  where Mexican dishes are being featured for the month of May!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 12:17 pm

    looks like a great sauce!

  2. April 17, 2009 1:07 pm

    I love your post! Your mole sauce actually sounds good. We like things spicy at our house!

  3. joelen permalink
    April 20, 2009 10:43 am

    Mole is one of my fave Mexican sauces! I hope you consider submitting this to the Foodie Films blogging event where we are featuring Mexican inspired recipes! Details are in my blog’s left sidebar 🙂

  4. Jenn permalink
    April 20, 2009 1:25 pm

    Haha mole is kinda messy looking when you are making it….hmm I didn’t think about putting raisins in mine…

Leave a Reply

