Skip to content

Stoplight Stirfry

April 27, 2009

imgp2609

Some people refer to this combination of peppers as a “stoplight pack.”  If you aren’t sure why that may be, maybe this picture will help:

Just don’t admit that you didn’t get why these peppers are called the Stoplight Trio to anyone.  They *might* think you’re slow.  Like yellow light slow.

Did you guys know I am pretty cheap frugal thrifty miserly efficient with our budget?  For both economic and environmental reasons, my pantry is filled with dry beans and legumes, bulk masses of rice, and let’s just say, I’ve mastered the art of the freezer. And as I alluded in this post, the red bell pepper makes only a rare appearance in our home.  The yellow?  Even rarer.  In fact, I think this is the first time I’ve ever purchased a yellow pepper.

So apparently these trio of peppers has not only the nickname “stoplight” peppers but it also has the power of  a stoplight.  Because as I was speeding down the produce aisle (hey, I’m a woman on a mission with three grocery stores to hit and I have no tolerance for Sunday-drivers.  Get in, get out, get goin!), and I slammed on the breaks. The tricolortrio was the same price as the monotone green trio. And in true form, I compared at least 6 different packs of peppers to find the largest red and yellow peppers to get the most bang for my buck.

imgp2618

Mhmm.  I chose a simply spiced meal to highlight the flavors of the colored peppers that we so rarely enjoy in our home.  We ate this meal outside on a beautiful spring evening on our back porch.

Stoplight Stir Fry (2 servings)

1/2 green bell pepper, sliced
1/2 yellow bell pepper, sliced
1/2 red bell pepper,sliced
1/2 white onion, sliced
2 scallions, chopped in 1″ pieces
2 pinches anise seed, whole
1/4 tsp garlic salt

hot rice

Add onion to a wok over medium heat sprayed with cooking oil.  Season with garlic salt and add anise seeds to toast.  Add the white (more onion-y) portions of the scallions to the wok.  Cook 1 minute.  Add bell peppers and stir fry until crisp, juicy, and brightly colored, about 3 minutes.  Toss in green parts of scallions and protein of choice (chick peas for me; beef for the omnivore).  Serve over rice.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2009 9:19 am

    I love bell peppers – so nice to find them on sale – this looks beautiful AND yummy. We’ve got a bunch growing in our garden this year, so I’m def starring this recipe!

  2. joelen permalink
    April 27, 2009 1:00 pm

    Love the colors!!

  3. April 27, 2009 3:54 pm

    That’s an incredible deal. Usually the multi-color packs are three times more expensive! Stock up, girl!

  4. April 29, 2009 3:45 pm

    Haha, cute name for a dish. I’m the same way and rarely get the red or yellow peppers even though I love them so much more. They’re so much sweeter! I have discovered the multi-colored frozen peppers in the freezer section (next to the frozen peas, carrots, corn, spinach, etc) and use that in a lot of my stir fries, omelettes, etc. It’s a decent substitute…

Trackbacks

  1. Vegetarians and their protein « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

