Skip to content

It was a scorcher out there

April 29, 2009

It was a scorcher out there, people!  And unfortunately, this was just the first hot day of many hot days to come.  Temperatures were reaching the 90s (hello?  It’s MAY and I’m not exactly hanging out in Florida).   And to boot, it seemed as if my kitchen was in direct sun.

It didn’t help that my kitchen was even warmer due to my decision to bake cookies. And that decision led to this decision: salad for dinner.  Welcome to summer in the South!  Good thing my Omnivore planted two rows of romaine lettuce in the garden this year; I have a feeling we’ll be enjoying this meal on many hot days.

imgp2800

Greek Quinoa with Avocados (adapted from Fitness Magazine)

1/4 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
1/2 cup water
1 tomato, seeded and finely chopped
1/2 cup shredded romaine lettuce
1/3 cup finely chopped red onion
1/2 small cucumber, chopped
2 radishes, diced
3/4 cup Great Northern beans
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
Romaine lettuce
1 avocado, pitted, peeled, and sliced
crumbled feta cheese

Bring quinoa and water to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 15 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed.  In a medium bowl, stir together quinoa, tomatoes, shredded lettuce, cucumber, beans, radishes and onion.   In a small bowl, whisk together lemon juice, oil, and salt. Mix with quinoa.   Arrange a bed of lettuce on a plate and top with quinoa mixture, sliced avocado, and feta cheese.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 12:27 pm

    looks great but I have a question… you say to cook until liquid is absorbed, but how much water do I start with? (maybe I missed it!)

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      April 29, 2009 12:37 pm

      1/2 cup — it is in the ingredient list. Maybe I’ll make the recipe directions more clear! Thanks.

  2. April 29, 2009 3:02 pm

    What a lovely salad – Greek flavors are my favorite, I just love feta!

  3. April 29, 2009 3:06 pm

    Love this salad! I’m crazy about avocados 🙂 – Alisa@Foodista.com

  4. April 29, 2009 4:18 pm

    Mmm – i love avocados and I wouldn’t have thought to pair it with quinoa… love it!

Leave a Reply

