Skip to content

A note about recipe inspiration

May 4, 2009

I bet most of you food bloggers and chefs get asked this very same question: How do you come up with these meal ideas?

It is true, inspiration can come in many forms:

But really, I’ve been known to read cookbooks like novels and scan the internet for ideas.  And I guess that’s where I get the majority of my ideas.  The trick to creating wonderful meals is that you must be open to inspiration.

The aforementioned openness lead to the following meal using leftover sweet potato gnocchi:

imgp2590I present to you Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Green Peas and Chickpeas in a Burnt Butter Sauce

Sounds elegant, no?  Would you believe that the sole source of inspiration was dog food?

That’s right.  Carnivore chow.  Doggy dinner.  Kritter kibble.  You get the picture.

So I was trying to think of a vegetable to accompany my sweet potato gnocchi and I could not get green pea out of my mind.  I’ve never eaten this combination so I wasn’t sure exactly what it would taste like.  I didn’t really have any other ideas, though, so I took this one and only inspiration and ran with it.

What’s the deal with the dog food, you ask?  Well, as a matter of fact, I work in the dog-food-industry (or something) and sweet potatoes and green peas seem to be a fairly common starch-source in allergen-free dog foods.  And for some reason, I just grouped those two ingredients together.  And it was delicious.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Two Types of Peas!

1 cup sweet potato gnocchi in browned butter sauce
1/2 cup peas (frozen)
3/4 chick peas
1/2 onion, diced
1 garlic clove, minced

Saute onion in nonstick spray and add garlic.  Stir until translucent.  Add green peas and chick peas, tossing lightly to thaw green peas.  Add gnocchi and heat until warmed through.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 6:30 am

    Great way to reinvent your leftovers. You should check out Rachael Ray’s Magazine, she always has a recipe that is suitable for people and their dogs.

  2. leemalerich permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:31 am

    i know why you could not get green peas out of your mind. your composition needed a “repeat” shape introduced by the chick peas, and a contrasting color with high intensity. simple.

Leave a Reply

