Skip to content

I love my job, BUT

May 6, 2009

Now don’t get me wrong.  I love my job.  I adore my job.  Sure, I get sprayed with vile bodily substances everyone in awhile, and yeah, sometimes sh!t literally hits the fan, but all in all, it’s a pretty awesome place to work.  

But when my coworker suggested one of us go home on a particularly slow afternoon, I scooted out of that place faster than you can say…well, anything.  

I am a menu planner.  It keeps life low-stress.  And I don’t deal well with stress.  The Omnivore can vouch for that.  So, I had a dinner plan.  Yeah, there was something, and what it was shall remain nameless, waiting for a quick and dirty dinner this Tuesday night.  We were going to be fed.  It was going to be tasty, probably.  

But now, NOW, I had the afternoon to prepare a REAL dinner.  Not some pre-prepped batch o’ something in hanging out in refrigerator.  We’re talking HOT food people.  Using an oven and a stand mixer on a work night.  I know, I know, hide your jealousy.

Lucky for me, I had been perusing a Cooking Light magazine that I stole from the gym during my lunch break.

Yes, I am that person who steals gym magazines.  But I’ll be honest, the magazines must meet certain criteria before I swipe them:

  1. They must be at least 3 months old.
  2. They must be fairly wrinkled, indicating that they’ve been well read.
  3. I must actually use the recipes I glean from the tattered pages

And guess what, 8 out of 10 times, or maybe even 4 out of 5 times (catch that?), I return the magazine back to the gym after copying recipes.  So don’t hate, mkay?

So, upon getting the signal (the scoot outta work like a bat outta heck signal), I knew exactly what I was making:  Korean Spiced Beef and Cabbage Rolls.

Except no beef, and um, no cabbage (because I was NOT stopping by the grocery store on the way home.  Time is of the essence, people!).

imgp3049

Korean Spiced Lentil and Pepper Runzas

1/4 cup chopped green onions

1 T low-sodium soy sauce

1/2 tablespoon sesame seeds

1/2 tablespoon rice wine vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar

1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1 minced garlic clove

1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper

3/4 cup cooked lentils (scant 1/2 cup when uncooked)

Cooking spray

1 cup thinly sliced green bell pepper

DOUGH:

  • 2 cups  all-purpose flour 
  • 1 tablespoons  baking powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  cups  water
  • 2 T  honey
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1  tablespoon  sesame seeds + egg wash or milk-wash for garnish

Preheat oven to 375*.  Boil lentils 20-25 minutes in water and drain, let cool.  Heat skilled to medium heat and spray with cooking spray.  Cook thinly sliced peppers until very soft, let cool.  Slice green onion very thinly and combine with all ingredients.  You should have about 1.5 cups of filling.

Make dough by sifting dry ingredients and whisking together wet ingredients.  Incorporate wet and dry and knead 5 minutes until smooth and elastic.  Let dough rest 5 minutes before assembling runzas.

Roll dough out into an 8 x 12 inch rectangle.  Cut dough into 6 squares, approximately 4 x 4 inches.  

imgp3028

Place 1/4 cup of filling in dough square like so and marvel at the apparent tastiness:

imgp3022

Bring two opposite corners together and pinch dough to seal:

imgp3026

Fold remaining corners to form a purse and place seam sides down on non-stick sprayed cookie sheet and garnish with sesame seeds and the eggwash:

imgp3025

Cool 5 minutes on a rack:

imgp3032

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 9:31 am

    This looks great and reminds me of Indian samosas!

  2. May 6, 2009 5:38 pm

    They’re so cute and look super tasty too! I love having extra time in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

