Skip to content

Hawaiian Fried Rice

May 9, 2009

Random thoughts…

Do Hawaiians eat fried rice?  Do pineapples grow anywhere other than Hawaii?  Does Hawaiians have a problem with everything-pineapple being associate with their state?

This dish is amazing.  It achieves an amazingly fresh taste using pantry items and freezer staples.  By using leftover rice, this dish comes together in a snap — quicker and better from your local Asian take-out joint.

The evening we had this meal, the Omnivore was requesting pizza.  Now, I can enjoy a slice of cheesy goodness every now and then.  And I don’t know about you, but when I’ve been brainstorming meals in my head, it is very hard for me to let go of that concept once my brain starts working.

And since I do the cooking round these parts, I vetoed the pizza request and whipped this meal up quicker than you can dial 1-800-Pizza-is-Nasty.

And then I made him repeat after me three times, “Yes, honey, this was tastier than take-out.”

imgp2869

Hawaiian Fried Rice

1 cup day old rice

1/4 cup chopped pineapple

2 scallions

1 T teriyaki sauce

1 T soy sauce

1 T pineapple juice

1/4 cup peas

1/4 corn

Cook pineapple chunks with teriyaki sauce in wok.  Once slightly browned, remove from the wok.  Add scallions and rice.  Stir in soy sauce and incorporate frozen vegetables.  Return pineapple to wok and stir until thoroughly heated.  Add reserved pineapple juice just before serving and enjoy.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 12:02 pm

    Looks great, I love pineapple!

  2. thecookingnurse permalink
    May 9, 2009 12:13 pm

    I’ll have to try this, we love fried rice!

  3. May 9, 2009 2:01 pm

    Great idea to add the pineapple! YUM!

  4. May 9, 2009 4:14 pm

    I love your addition of pineapple, sounds perfect with fried rice!

  5. May 30, 2009 10:07 pm

    YES. YES. NO. Lol. Hope that answers your questions about hawaiians. I love fried rice and my moms is delicious. She uses egg and soy sauce and whatever leftovers she happens to have in the fridge. Spam, snow peas, shrimp, kalua pig, cabbage, green onion, garlic, all sorts of things. It’s a great way to whip something up using leftovers

Trackbacks

  1. I think I need a new blog tag: Pineapple « Branny Boils Over
  2. One day, my cheapness got the best of me « Branny Boils Over
  3. O Onívoro » Blog Archive » Sobras de legumes e arroz? Frite-os!

Leave a Reply

