Skip to content

One day, my cheapness got the best of me

May 10, 2009

Or so I thought…

If you know me in real life, you’d know that I am thrifty.  Not thrifty in a grungy way. But thrifty in a wow-what a creative way to save money-way.  At least, that’s how I hope you view my frugality.  If you think otherwise, keep those thoughts to yourself.

And for some reason, I always challenge myself to get even cheaper.  Just when I think my grocery bill is low enough, I try to take my bargain hunting up a notch.  But one day, said bargain-hunting ambitions, got the best of me.

I keep frozen veggies on sale for quick stir fries and fried-rice-add-ins.  Frozen broccoli is good for this.  Frozen broccoli florets that is.  As I was shopping one day, I was reaching into the freezer section to grab a pack of frozen florets.

I don’t know if the freezer window got extra foggy and I lost sight of the prize, or if my hand slipped and grabbed the package next to the one I was aiming for or what…but somehow I ended up with the (conveniently cheaper) stems and pieces pack of broccoli rather than the cut florets.

Yeah, nothing worse than biting into a big old stem of broccoli.  Sure, the fiber content is high and all.  But seriously?  It’s like eating a tree trunk. And after that first night of rather woody stir fry, I realized that I must find another use for the pound and a half of broccoli-trunks left sitting in the freezer.

imgp2846

And my food processor came to the rescue.  With this sauce, pureed to oblivion, neither the Omnivore nor I can tell the difference between the florets and the tree trunks.  Woohoo!  And now I buy the (cheaper) tree-trunks with a purpose.  And the world is good.  And the grocery bill is lower.

Broccoli Pesto Sauce (with inspiration from Better Homes and Gardens)

8 oz frozen broccoli florets, thawed
1 clove garlic
1 T parmesean cheese
1 T EVOO
8-10 oz veggie broth
squeeze of lemon juice

Whirl in food processor, adding water to acheive desired consistency.  Serve over pasta with a squeeze of lemon juice.  Be aware that this sauce will keep all vampires away as the flavor of raw garlic is prominent.  The picture above highlights a beautiful white bean ravioli.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2009 12:19 pm

    Ha! My cheapness (ahem, THRIFT) usually gets the better of me too.
    I lop off the outer parts of the stems with a knife (instead of peeling them) – gets rid of the tree trunk issue.

  2. May 10, 2009 5:44 pm

    I love this idea! I may try this one on my toddler to get more broccoli in him!

Leave a Reply

