Skip to content

Eat your orange

May 11, 2009

I don’t have children.  I’ve got these two things:

IMGP2242IMGP2695_2

and I guess you could call them my “kids,” but I don’t really refer to them that way.  They’re pretty self sufficient.

The spiritual being I most “mother” in this house is certainly the Omnivore.  And he knows that. I mean, that’s why he gave me kitchen equipment for Mother’s Day.  No cutsie “from the dogs” facade.  It was from him and he knew it.

Although the ‘vore is a “good eater” (sounds like I’m talking about someone’s four-year-old, doesn’t it?), he sometimes needs a little nudging to try out new and unusual dishes that somehow end up on his dinner plate (how *does* that keep happening?).

This is accomplished in a few ways, and you may want to take notes so that the next time you feed your children, they try new foods more openly as well:

  1. Don’t mention the new player at the dinner table.  Just serve it and ignore.  Act like you’ve been eating it routinely for years.
  2. Give him a chance to eat it on his own once he has acknowledged its presence.  Don’t comment on the deliciousness of it as you enjoy it.  Ask him how is green beans are and if the potatoes and cooked appropriately, instead.
  3. Remember, he’s always watching you. He’ll be giving you sideways glances to see how you are approaching the new side dish.  Don’t let him know that you see him watching. Just eat it, enjoy it, move along.  Move onto step 4 after about 6 minutes of steps 1-3.
  4. Finally, address the Elephant in the room, or else when he finally does try the side dish, it’ll be cold and ruin any future plans you had for this delicious ensemble.  Say firmly, but politely, Eat your orange.

IMGP3246

And watch him enjoy.

Acorn Squash and Lima Bean Saute

1 acorn squash, cooked, cooled and cubed

1 cup lima beans

1 onion, diced

1 garlic clove, minced

2 tsp. ginger powder

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp mustard powder

salt and pepper

Cook acorn squash as desired.  I microwaved mine for 3 minutes, sliced it in half, and scooped out the stringy flesh and seeds.  Then I placed it flesh-side down in my vegetable steamer to steam for approximately 10 minutes.  My lima beans were frozen and cooked for 20 minutes in a few cups of water.

Saute onion with spices.  Add garlic and cook lightly.  Fold in squash and add lima beans.  Cook until thoroughly heated.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 8:21 am

    Great tips! They would definitely work on my toddler but not my DH! I may try this recipe on the toddler!

Trackbacks

  1. My Omnivore is a kid at heart « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

