Skip to content

I think I need a new blog tag: Pineapple

May 11, 2009

I’ve blogged pineapple-based bread. I discovered that my favorite pizza recipe EVER includes pineapple.  I recently put pineapple in my rice and let us not forget the origin of the rule around here: pineapple black bean enchiladas.  And now I’ve got pineapple in my salad.

I don’t know what draws me to this ingredient, but I’ve never been disappointed with a dish that contains pineapple.  I usually use the cheap, canned variety.  I love that such a simple pantry staple can yield such amazingly fresh results.imgp3064

The combination of ingredients in this recipe take some getting use to.  Previously, I think that I usually only ever ate black eyed peas along with collard greens, Uncle Ben’s rice, and a hunk of old fashioned corn bread.  But these little gems can be enjoyed in many different ways.

Black Eye Pea and Pineapple Salad (inspired from Savannah Seasons and fresh365)

2 c black-eyed peas, rinsed and drained

2 c fresh pineapple, diced

1 roasted red pepper, diced

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

1 stalk celery, chopped

1 scallion, thinly sliced

2 T cider vinegar

2 t salt

black pepper

3 T banana peppers, diced

1 tomato, chopped

Combine ingredients and let marinate 1 hour at room temperature or overnight if desired.  This would be delicious on top of tortilla chips or heaped on pitas.  Or enjoy as seen here: over a bed of fresh lettuce.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    May 11, 2009 4:00 pm

    That sounds like a great combination!

  2. May 12, 2009 9:15 am

    I wouldn’t have thought of pairing black eyed peas and pineapple! looks great!

Leave a Reply

