Skip to content

Because your other recipes are kind of bland…

May 18, 2009

IMGP3473I have every Monday off.  I know, you’re jealous.  3-day-weekend, yadda yadda.  But I work four 10-hour days to get that Monday and I so I deserve it.  And I deserve that 3 hour power nap that I take every Monday afternoon, too.  Yes.  3 hours.

And my Mondays are usually pretty similar from week to week.  1) Make bread dough.  2) Let rise.  3) Spin class at the Y.  4) Bake bread.  5) Gorge on bread.  6) Thank the heavens for spin class. 7)  Nap.  8) Eat dinner, usually consisting of previously mentioned fresh bread.

And this Monday was no different.  I was planning on making whole wheat pita bread.  That was, until, I ran across the following recipe online.  Insert paradigm shift here.

My menu changed to accommodate this deliciousness.  And the Omnivore was very happy.  I know this because he said, and I quote, “I am glad you found this recipe because your other potato recipes are kind of bland.”  True love, people, true love.

Roasted Peanutty Potatoes (seen here but adapted from here)
1 pound potatoes
3 tbsp peanut butter
1/4 cup vegetable broth
1/8 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp curry powder
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 garlic clove
1 tsp sugar
freshly chopped parsley

Steam potaotes, with skins on, for 20 minutes.  Let cool slightly.  Preheat oven to 375*.  Dice potatoes into 1″ cubes.  Combine all remaining ingredients and toss with potatoes.  Place in a baking dish and roasted 30 minutes, turning twice during cooking.  Sprinkle with fresh parsley before serving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. oneparticularkitchen permalink
    May 19, 2009 8:21 am

    OH MAH GAH that looks good!!!

  2. Jenn permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:10 am

    haha that’s hilarious that your husband said that! Those potatoes sound awesome by the way 🙂

  3. May 20, 2009 9:29 am

    What a great idea to pair potatoes with peanut butter… it reminds me of some southeast asian dishes that use peanut butter in savory dishes!

  4. May 20, 2009 11:47 am

    Oh so glad you and your husband loved these!!!! We did too…they are definitely in our “rotation” now!

Leave a Reply

