Skip to content

Oh, Crock pot, how I love thee…

May 18, 2009

I own three crockpots.

And I use them all.  Sometimes all at the same time.  On Sunday morning, I threw a whole chicken in the crockpot, tossed in a bayleaf, garlic, rosemary, onions, carrots, celery, the works.  Cranked it on low and went on with my day.

And life was good.  Why? you ask.

It was not because dinner was going to be ready when I walked in the door that evening.  I don’t work on Sundays.  And I don’t eat chicken.

It was not because this one-pot-meal requires little cleanup.  The Omnivore does the dishes.

And it was not because I could “set it and forget it,” after all, I still had dinner to prepare for myself.

And THAT’S why I love my crockpot.  10 mintues of prep in the morning and the Omnivore’s meal is set.  And he loved it, TYVM.  My crockpot is like a delicious, mysterious, black hole.  I put stuff in it, no taste testing along the way, and it comes out beautifully.

And then I have all evening to prepare a righteous meal for me, and me only.

kale

Spanish Chickpeas and Kale (1 serving, adapted from Oishi)
Non stick cooking spray
1/2 bunch of kale, washed, and roughly chopped
1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
1 onion, sliced
1/2 cup coarse breadcrumbs
1/2 cup chickpeas, drained
1/2 tsp. sweet paprika
1/4 tsp. ground cumin
salt & pepper to taste
2 tsp. sherry vinegar
1 egg, boiled and sliced

Heat a medium skillet over medium-high heat and spray with cooking oil.   Add onions and garlic and cook until soft.  Add kale and sauté the kale until it wilts, about 2 minutes.  Add the breadcrumbs, chickpeas, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper, cooking until beans are heated through, about 4 minutes.  Stir in the vinegar.
Spoon into a serving dish and top with the sliced eggs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 8:39 am

    Fabulous! I love my crockpot too. I use it once a week (or so) and it’s fantastic. I can make dinner for my DH and then make pasta with cheese and cream sauce for me. YUM.

  2. May 18, 2009 9:04 am

    Three crock pots in use at the same time-definitely qualifies as a crock star!! I love using the crock pot!

  3. May 18, 2009 2:32 pm

    I’m always looking for kale recipes – this looks great!

Leave a Reply

