Skip to content

I did the hard math for you

May 19, 2009
tags:

IMGP3414I am constantly trying to make a decent chocolate chip cookie for the Omnivore.  And he is constantly hinting in the *best possible way* that I’ve not quite hit the mark.

Me: *groaning as a I lift the insanely heavy mixer out of storage to get baking*

Omnivore: What are you making?

Me: Chocolate*did I just give myself a hernia?*Chip*grunt*Cookies

Omnivore, hinting that the last recipe was underwhelming: Oh, a new recipe???

Hmph.  Yes, indeed.  But I know better than to try out a full-makes-you-5-dozen-cookies recipe on the Omnivore.  Sure, he can eat 5 dozen Oreos.  5 dozen Famous Amos.  But 5 dozen cookies that come out of my kitchen?  Nope.  Maybe 5 cookies.  Or 1/5 of a cookie.

So I did the hard math for you and halved this recipe.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies
1/2 cup + 2 T butter, softened
1/2 cup + 2 T granulated sugar
1/2 cup + 2 T brown sugar, packed
1 egg
3/4 tsp vanilla
1 cup + 2 T flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
scant 1/2 tsp salt
6 oz chocolate chip morsels

Beat butter and sugars at medium speed with an electric mixer until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla, beating until blended.

Combine flour, soda, and salt in a small bowl; gradually add to butter mixture, beating well. Stir in morsels. Chill dough at least 30 minutes. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto lightly greased baking sheets.

Bake at 350° for 8 to 14 minutes or until desired degree of doneness. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

IMGP3428These are a chewy chocolate chip cookie.  You can definitely taste the brown sugar in the recipe and feel that texture.  The Omnivore ate 1 the first night, 3 the next day at lunch, and 5 the next night.  Either these cookies age like fine wine, or he’s just desperate for sweets.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 10:21 am

    I love collecting chocolate chip cookies – this looks like a great one

  2. cls permalink
    February 21, 2010 11:38 pm

    I just made these tonight. I saw the photo and thought, yep, this is what a chocolate chip cookie should look like. OMG! So good! I made them about a teaspoonful size so I could eat more than one! Thank you so much! Now I have to go sleep these off.

Trackbacks

  1. No more chocolate chip cookies on my grocery list « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

