Skip to content

I may have been late to the party,

May 23, 2009

but I still had a good time!

A long, long time ago, there was a bit of a trend in the blogging world.  It was back in 2007 perhaps, when this recipe was first posted on the internet.  Its creator?  A chef in Australia.  Image that.  Those outback folk cook.  But we probably wouldn’t even know about had it not been for the Pioneer Woman.

I know it is tempting to click that blue link, but unless you desire reading blog posts even longer and more drawn out than mine, I suggest you hold yourself back.  Anyway, the Pioneer Woman has a HUGE blog following.  And when she introduced her readers to Crash-hot potatoes, she introduced the world to crash-hot potatoes.

IMGP3514The thing is, this recipe spread like wildfire in Summer 2008 when PW first blogged it.  Everyone was doing it.  These potatoes were all over.  You couldn’t get away from them.

People raved about how simple they were.  How amazingly delicious.  How it was a recipe, but not really a recipe. And I was intrigued, for a bit.  I’ll admit it.

And then every.single.blog I followed started updating with that recipe.  And then I was just annoyed.  Like in Middle School, when you’re the first kid with the slap bracelets, and then all of the sudden every kewl kid has a slap bracelet, even the elementary school kids.

So you promptly abandon slap bracelets in favor of the side ponytail. 

And then even the boys are rockin’ the side ponytail.  So not cool.  So you just put up and shut up and pretend like bracelets and hair don’t exist.

Yeah.  I can be stubborn.  So that’s how I was.  Crash-hot-what?  I didn’t see that recipe on every blog that I subscribe to.  What?  Potatoes as a side dish?  Huh?  You’re crazy.

But now I do believe that it has been long enough since this recipe was blogged and I can bring it back.

Like Nicole Richie brought back the side ponytail.  Readers will think it is something new and different. And the whirlwind of blog posts about the potatoes will start again.  And I’ll be supa-cool because I brought sexy back. Mm hmm.

Ok.  So back to the food.  Like I mentioned earlier, it isn’t really a recipe.  And that detail kind of irks me, but I put those feelings aside because this method to cooking potatoes really is delicious.  The texture of crispy, crunchy, tips combined with soft potato-y insides really is very nice.

Crash-hot potatoes

Steam potatoes for 25 minutes, with skins on.  Then, cut them into appropriate sizes if they are large.  If they are small, leave them whole.

IMGP3491

It may make the “crashing part” easier if you level the potatoes.IMGP3493

Oh, and, regarding my nails, let’s implement the GOLDEN RULE here: If you don’t have anything nice to say, …

With your knife, make a small “X” in the middle of the potato.  This makes the crash easier.  Then, using your potato masher, wooden spoon, high-ball glass, meat mallet, palm of your hand, SMASH THE B’HECK out of the potato.  If you didn’t steam your potatoes long enough, smashing results will be less than stellar.  But that’s okay.  Move along.

IMGP3494

Using a spatula, transfer the potatoes to a cookie sheet that has been kissed with olive oil.  Drizzle olive oil on top of the potatoes and season with salt and pepper.  Place in a preheated 425* oven for 15 minutes.  Remove sheet pan from oven after 15 minutes, especially if you had less-than-stellar crashing results first time around.

Smash the softened potatoes again.  Drizzle more olive oil on top, if you desire.  Add dried herbs, and return to oven until golden brown like so:

IMGP3513

Commence ogling.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2009 12:29 pm

    Why such angst towards the slap bracelet? I think I dominated the market on slap bracelets during 6th grade! Oh, wait a second… I also thought splatter painted jeans were the cat’s meow. Ho hum. 😉

  2. May 23, 2009 10:12 pm

    love the side ponytail – and the potatoes of course…

Leave a Reply

