Skip to content

Avocado and Egg Salad

May 31, 2009

I had a close call with the eggs.  Let’s face it.  By the time I got home, I had been shoe-shopping, gone to Walmart, and hit 2 additional grocery stores all in the same morning.  I was tired.  I got sloppy: I slung the grocery tote on the counter with no regards for its contents.

It was the egg-tote. The bag that held the most precious of all cargo.  Precious because I eat a ton of eggs every week.  Precious because we were already low on eggs anyway.  Precious because they break so darn easy.  But I guess karma was looking out for me, because none of my 24 little oblong beauties cracked.  And, to boot, I got a unique recipe inspiration.

A little egg came wobbling out of the grocery bag.  Teetering and tottering in an odd circular motion, drastically close to the edge of the counter, but not quite…and I almost thought it was going to take a dive but momentum swung it the other way. And it rolled, rolled, rolled, over to my pile of produce.

And atop that pile was a fruit.  A fruit with a similarly oblong shape, but a decidedly different future than the egg:

Yes.  The avocado.  The fruit that seems like a vegetable and shows up on your thighs like bacon fat.  The buttery fruit that is so creamy yet somehow contains no cream.  But it does, however, contain a unique toxicity towards birds.  Weird, I know.  TMI?  Maybe.  Just don’t feed it to your pet bird, okay?  Thank goodness I’m not allergic.

Avocado and Egg Salad (3 servings)
1/2 avocado, diced and sprinkled with lemon juice
1 whole boiled egg, diced
2 boiled egg whites, diced
1/4 cup onion, minced
1/4 tsp garlic salt
1/4 tsp sweet paprika

Chop and combine.  For realz.  That is all.

IMGP3655

I made this pita myself.  Yep, sure did.  And the pocket is so deep that you can’t even see the tomato, cucumbers, and lettuce that adorned this sandwich.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Becca :-) permalink
    May 31, 2009 3:27 pm

    Yum!!!! I am going to give this a try too…looks great!

  2. May 31, 2009 4:28 pm

    Yum, yum, yum – I love this combination!

  3. May 31, 2009 5:03 pm

    This looks great. I am not a fan of egg salad because of the mayo but I can definitely get behind this version with the avocado!

  4. (grandmother)? permalink
    June 1, 2009 12:19 pm

    yummmm. will try. branny, look at this transfer of ids. is this scary, or what?

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      June 1, 2009 12:40 pm

      Hmm. Scary that your computer remembered your alter-ego or scary that you are embracing the resident carnivores?

  5. June 2, 2009 1:45 pm

    Looks yummy! One question: Is the texture really mushy? I’m trying to imagine egg salad with avocado…both have a similar soft texture. Just curious.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      June 2, 2009 5:48 pm

      Not really mushy at all. But I didn’t use an overly ripe avocado. It was very creamy but not mushy.

Leave a Reply

