Skip to content

This may or or may not be a pampered chef advertisement

June 3, 2009
tags:

If you haven’t figured it out by now, you probably have a loose screw: I’m just a little quirky.  I do things like make vegan steak when I’m not actually vegan and try to pawn non-dairy pasta dishes off as Macaroni and Cheese at work potlucks.  Yes, I enjoy challenging myself to a fault.  But the following challenge I made for myself actually turned out pretty nifty and some beautiful cookies were the result.

I recently hosted a Pampered Chef Party and this weekend I received my box o’ goodies.  There were a lot of nifty purchases for me to try out but I short on time and ingredients.  So I set out to find one single recipe that would allow me to use everyone one of my newly acquired kitchen gadgets.  And, aside from not being able to include the julienne vegetable slicer in the experiment, I succeeded.  And I was able to make some pretty delicious cookies for three men in my life: my pops, the Omnivore, and my lil’ step-bro, G.

The recipe?  A cut-out sugar cookie made with granulated sugar instead of powdered sugar.  The cookies are tasty.  They are just a bit puffy than my other recipe but not horribly so.  IMGP3741

I planned to decorate these cookies with royal icing, a frosting that requires large amounts of powdered sugar.  Thus my search for a rollout sugar cookie containing none.

I had no theme for the cookies (as I have in the past: Christmas, gold medals, etc.) but I did have a super-useful pastry dough cutter just dying to be used.

So I zigged and zagged along the rolled out cookie dough and ended up with cookies that looked decidedly like postage stamps.  Remember those things?  With all the email and online bill pay and the mess, these things are relics of the past.  But they’d be great as Bon-Voyage cookies to celebrate someone moving away.

IMGP3722

Because flags are iconic stamp images, I decided to go with a red-white-blue theme for these cookies.

Royal icing is made by combining powdered sugar with driplets of water and food coloring to achieve the desired consistency (thick for borders, thin for flooding).

It helps if you happen to have a brand spankin new micro-spatula to shovel your icing into your brand spankin new decorator bottles:

IMGP3732

IMGP3728

Stop the presses.  I need to apologize about this photo.  What the heck was I thinking.  This sideways stuff is making me nauseous, too.  Never again.

And you know what makes for the perfectly baked sugar cookie?  A stone.  A pampered chef stone.  And no, I’m not getting paid for this advertisement.  But I’m gladly accepting checks should PC deem them appropriate.

IMGP3753IMGP3747

Sugar Cookies (adapted from The Illustrated Encyclopedia of American Cooking)
1 c sugar
1/2 c butter (original recipe says shortening, btw, and this wasn’t my only change to the recipe)
2 eggs
2 T milk
1 T vanilla extract
3.5 c flour
2 tsp baking powder

Cream sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.  Add eggs and milk.  Add vanilla and beat well.  Sift remaining ingredients and add to creamed mixture.  Cover and chill.  Roll out on a floured surface to 1/4″ thickness and cut as desired.  Bake at 375* for 8 – 10 minutes until just golden.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. thecookingnurse permalink
    June 3, 2009 6:07 pm

    Great job decorating the cookies, they look adorable!

  2. June 3, 2009 8:00 pm

    Great job! I want that pastry cutter now! I love PC stuff, and now my cousin is a consultant, so she’s like my dealer. Thanks for the tip on baking the cookies on the stoneware. I haven’t tried that!

  3. June 4, 2009 7:18 am

    You cookies are perfect – nice job!

  4. June 4, 2009 7:18 am

    I mean to say, “Your” cookies are perfect. Sorry for the typo!

  5. June 4, 2009 2:52 pm

    Great job, they are so cute! Love those squeeze bottles!

  6. Jenn permalink
    June 6, 2009 2:39 pm

    Your cookies look so cute!!! I love them!

  7. Dad permalink
    June 6, 2009 5:36 pm

    your pops had some……they were as good as the pictures look too.
    thanks dear

Leave a Reply

