Skip to content

Not your ordinary German Chocolate Cake

June 5, 2009

You  know those recipes you read that you just can’t stop thinking about?  You glance at the ingredient list, are immediately intrigued, and the dish begins to haunt your foodie-daydreams.

https://i0.wp.com/weblogs.baltimoresun.com/entertainment/dining/reviews/blog/sugarplum.jpg

You do have foodie-daydreams, right?  Please tell me I’m not the only one…  Humor me, would you?

Well shortly after stumbling upon this recipe my thoughts became haunted.  Could I pull this off?  Would the Omnivore eat it?  Would I eat it?

And then I saw on my work schedule that I had a staff meeting coming up…

and as Dr. Phil says, the best predictor of future behavior is past behavior.  So let’s just revisit some of my past staff meeting contributions:

Avocado Butter Cream Iced Cake

and Vegan Mac and Cheese

and Potato Candy

So it seemed that my staff meeting was a natural fit for this recipe for a German Chocolate Cake — well, Chocolate Sauerkraut (this is the German part) Cake, that is.

IMGP3816

Should I have abandoned ship when the Omnivore gagged while I was mixing this cake?  Maybe.  But how could I *not* try it!?

Chocolate Sauerkraut Cake (adapted from here)

1/2 c. butter
1 1/2 c. granulated sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 3/4 c. flour sifted with 1/4 cup cornstarch
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa
1 c. water
1 8 oz. can sauerkraut, drained, rinsed, and finely snipped

In large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until light.  Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Add vanilla.  Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cocoa.  Add to creamed mixture, alternating with water, beating after each addition.  Stir in sauerkraut.  Turn into greased and floured 9×13″ baking pan.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 35-40 minutes.  Cool in pan.

Sour Cream Frosting (4-5 cups of frosting)
1 stick butter
1 cup sour cream
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp lemon juice
5-6 c powdered sugar

Cream butter and sour cream together.  Add remaining ingredients, finishing with incremental additions of the powdered sugar.

IMGP3812

The sourcream frosting recipe is great.  I LOVE it.  The cake recipe…could use some improvement.  It wasn’t a blow-me-away-cake, but it was a fun try.  It has the texture of a carrot cake.  Next time I would sub something richer for the water and perhaps include mini-chocolate chips to enchance the flavor.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 6:17 am

    Interesting. I would certainly try a piece though. I think you need a “unique” tag in your blog. LOL!

  2. June 5, 2009 6:35 am

    You make the weirdest stuff Branny. I love it.

  3. June 5, 2009 6:37 am

    I love this idea…I really want to try it. That, and mayonaise cake, and tomato soup cake. And maybe beet cake! There are so many options. And I’m not kidding…really!

  4. June 5, 2009 8:22 am

    Okay, I looooove sauerkraut but I’m still a little freaked out by mixing it with chocolate, baking it, and ingesting. Can we stick to avocado marshmallows instead? 😉

    Keep it up, Branny. I love your new ideas!

  5. June 5, 2009 9:01 am

    I swear I’ve heard of this before but can’t remember where. It sounds really interesting! Too bad you didn’t love it.
    FWIW – I love cream cheese frosting with a tablespoon of sour cream thrown in. Gives it just a bit of tang. So good!

  6. Frank permalink
    June 5, 2009 10:25 pm

    I tried her sauerkraut cake and now I am telling everyone if ever offered sauerkraut cake, try it. I mentioned to a friend at work and she said her mother has made chocolate sauerkraut cake for years!

    After eating, I was definitely on the hook to take the dog! I also should have begged for a second piece!

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      June 6, 2009 7:40 am

      Glad to see you around F! Stay around — next item on the crazy food to-do-list is Avocado Flavored Marshmallows.
      Everyone else, I’d like to introduce you to the love of all things Cocker Spaniel. He saved a dog’s life without a single second thought. Hip hip hooray.

  7. June 6, 2009 12:15 pm

    What an interesting cake – my hubby loves sauerkraut and I’m very curious about what it would be like in a cake. That sour cream frosting does look fantastic!

Trackbacks

  1. This dinner brought to you by the letter P « Branny Boils Over
  2. Rootbeer Chocolate Cake « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

