Skip to content

and the moral of the story is…

June 6, 2009

Let me just get this part out of the way.  These patties are delicious.  Spicy but not overwhelmingly so, oddly creamy, with a crisp exterior.  They came about as a last ditch effort to use up the black eyed peas I’d cooked in bulk, and by luck, the recipe became a keeper!

This meal struck me as funny because I made this main dish on the same day I made chocolate chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. The cookies had just come out of the oven and were on the counter cooling, in all their glory,

as this recipe came together.  What struck  me as funny was the resemblance between the two very different edibles:

IMGP3012

It reminds me of an experience I had as a young little Branny.  I lived out in the country on a seldom traveled dirt road.  There weren’t many kids in my neighborhood and the houses were few and far between (okay, that’s an exaggeration, we just had a bunch of old fogies living in our neighborhood and no kids).

There was this one young adult, though, named Russell Bone.  With a name like that, you won’t be surprised to find out that he was the neighborhood bully.  (Although, this was an easy title to achieve because apart from my brother and me, he was basically the only other kid in the ‘hood.  He was a real jerk, though).

One summer evening, decades before I stopped eating meat, I was minding my own business, swinging on the swingset that my daddy had built for me with his bare hands.  I was munching on a salmon patty – one of my most favorite treats, or, alternatively, the only thing my mom would give me to eat:

And here comes old Russell Bone, bounding into my backyard uninvited.  Quickly, he approaches me, announces to me that he is going to “Steal your oatmeal cookie,” and grabs my fisted treat.  Before I could stop him (although I’m not sure I actually wanted to stop him — afterall, he was in for a big surprise), he had taken a big bite of fish. Boy did he get what he deserved.

And since this story basically went no where and kind of just fizzle out, I’ll go ahead and tell you the moral of the story: oatmeal cookies resemble a lot of other types of food.

Black Eyed Pea Patties (3-4 servings)

1/4 cup bread crumbs
1 clove garlic, minced
2 T minced onion
1/2 mashed black eyed peas
1/2 t Tony Cachere Creole Seasoning
2 T boiling water + 1 T flax ground (this is an egg sub, use 1 egg white instead if you want)
1/2 cup whole blackeyed peas

bread crumbs to pat on top

Combine all ingredients except reserved bread crumbs.  Form into patties and pat fresh crumbs on top of each pattie.  Preheat and oil a skillet stovetop over medium heat.  Place black eyed pea patties in the skillet, cooking 4 minutes per side.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. rlberry permalink
    June 6, 2009 4:27 pm

    Yum, these look good, and I’m always looking for an egg sub in my bean patties since I don’t often have them on hand. Good tip!

  2. June 7, 2009 3:11 pm

    Cute story! Every bully should get a surprise like that! Both your cookies and the black eyed pea cakes look great.

  3. June 7, 2009 9:15 pm

    Looks yummy.

  4. lee malerich permalink
    June 8, 2009 7:48 pm

    omg! a new story to me, or did i forget it decades ago? do you remember that his daddy is a fish monger?? somehow, i do not think that this is the oatmeal fish that they ate.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      June 9, 2009 6:05 am

      Alas, amidst all the other stories, you’ve probably just forgotten this one. Unfortunately for Russell Bone, and others, Branny doesn’t forget a thing! And yes, I once went on a field trip to Mr Bones fish-monger-counter aka the grocery store that sold frozen fish!

  5. lee malerich permalink
    June 9, 2009 6:22 am

    i remember that lame field trip.

Trackbacks

  1. Sometimes I feel like a nut… « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

