Skip to content

Caught in my own web of lies

June 11, 2009

Okay.  So remember when I told you that it is all about the delivery? Well, this is a tactic that I implement with the Omnivore when I fear he may not enjoy the dish I am feeding him.

I’m not the only one who opens culinary horizons around here.  One time (and only one time), the Omnivore introduced yours truly to something new: cous cous.  And I fell in love with those adaptable, tiny, pellets of carbs.

And then I fell in love with bulgur, quinoa, israeli cous cous, and the like.

And I began cooking with these lovely grains in my fair kitchen.  But, let’s be honest: Who wants to eat something called Bulgar?  And I just feel dumb saying “quinoa” and the Omnivore didn’t want to hear it anyway.  So, I just called it cous cous and moved along.

For years, the Omnivore never noticed.  I think it is because he’s farsighted and can’t really see what he’s eating anyway.

But, somehow, he caught me in my web of lies this evening.  Maybe it was me pulling the grains out of a bag instead of a plastic storage container. Maybe it was the change in cooking technique from quickly boiling water in the microwave to pour over cous cous to the more involved, boiling water stovetop method. Maybe it was his recent visit to the eye doctor. But, alas, whatever the excuse, I was caught.  And he began the inquisition”

The Omnivore: “This cous cous is awfully big.  Is it the same as last time?”

Me: “Nope.  I added walnuts this time.”  I thought I cleverly dodged the issue.

The Omnivore: “Is this the same stuff that’s in the manfood?”

Me: “I don’t know what you are talking about.  I think cheese is really tasty.”

The Omnivore: “Wait.  Is this bulgar?  You didn’t know I knew that word did you?  This seems awfully healthy…”

Me: “Want to make some cookies after dinner?

-silence-

Me: “You caught me.  Yes, it’s bulgar.  But, I promise, you’ve had it before and you’ve been enjoying it for years.  I usually call it cous cous.”

The Omnivore: “Okay.  I forgive you.  But next time, can we have the REAL cous cous?”

IMGP3923

Walnut Veggie Bulgar Pilaf (3 servings)
1/2 cup bulgar
1 cup water
1/2 tsp salt
freshly ground pepper
1/4 c bell pepper, diced
1/4 c onion, diced
1/4 walnuts, toasted

Boil water and add bulgar.  Simmer 5-7 minutes uncovered, then cover and turn on low, cooking for 10 minutes or until water is absorbed.  Saute onion and bell pepper in olive oil.  Once soft, add walnuts and cook until fragrant.  Add bulgar and toss to mix.  Salt and pepper and serve.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 5:57 pm

    Haha – cute story 🙂 My hubby is a foodie and is always inquisitive about such things!

Trackbacks

  1. This dinner brought to you by the letter P « Branny Boils Over
  2. Quinoa and Cheese « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

