Skip to content

It was like eating a pre-pickle

June 18, 2009

Oh man.  If only you knew the thoughts that run through my pea-brain.  One afternoon, as I was smelling the freshly baked bread cooling on my counter IMGP4152and thinking about the delicious vegetables in my refrigerator, I decided to make a veggie sandwich with a cream cheese spread.

So, I gathered fresh dill from the garden.

Then I sliced fragrant cucumbers into thick rounds.

And mixed up some cream cheese with garlic salt.

And before I knew it, I had a delicious cream cheese spread.

IMGP4042

But it didn’t stop there.  Yep.  I put another peice of bread on top of the cream cheese and cucumbers and made this thing called a sandwich.  Inventive, I know.

Here, let me show you a picture:

IMGP4050This is revolutionary, people.  I think these sandwiches are going to change the world.  Portable.  Adaptable.  Flexible.  They have it all.

So, anyway, back to the thoughts running through my head.  Eating dilled cream cheese with cucumbers… Admit it, you know where I’m going with this.  “This sandwich is like eating a pre-pickle.  You know, all the ingredients of a pickle before they become, well, a pickle.” Price less.

Dilled Cream Cheese (2 servings)
2 oz. cream cheese
1/4 t garlic salt
1 T fresh dill, chopped

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Bread

2/3 cup rolled oats
1 tablespoon butter
2 tsp salt
1/4 cup agave
1 1/3 cups boiling water
3 cups flour – 2 cups WW, 1 c bread flour
2 T vital wheat gluten
2 tsp instant yeast

Add boiling water to oats, butter, salt, and agave nectar in the bowl of your stand mixer.  Let sit for 20 minutes.  Add yeast and stir.  Add VWG (0r omit) and remaining flour in increments until a dough forms.  Knead 4-5 minutes.  Let dough rest and proof, until double in size (about 1 hr).  Punch down dough and roll into a rectangle as long as your 9″ loaf pan.  Fold the dough over itself, jelly roll style, and place in greased loaf pan.  Let rise, coverd, until it just crests the top.  Bake in a preheated oven at 350 for 25 minutes or until internal temperature reaches 190*.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 8:40 am

    Oh, I remember you talking about that cream cheese mixture when you made it, and it sounded fantastic. The pickle relationship didn’t occur to me until you said it, but that’s pretty funny. This might be a good way to use up the half-cucumbers I tend to have laying around.

  2. June 18, 2009 9:36 am

    That oatmeal bread looks wonderful and I love how you used it for cucumber sandwiches! Yum!

  3. June 18, 2009 10:26 am

    my dill went crazy while i was on vacation. thanks for giving me an idea of how to use some of it up!

  4. bmk112302 permalink
    June 18, 2009 2:43 pm

    Sounds perfect to me! How cool you can just pick the ingredients from your garden.

  5. June 18, 2009 4:16 pm

    Pre-pickle! Hilarious!! I wish I liked cucumbers more, because I feel like they’re such a key part of any veggie sandwich. But no matter how hard I try, I only like them when they’re post-pickle 🙂

  6. Brianna & Dustin permalink
    June 18, 2009 5:05 pm

    I was wondering what your title meant, but yes, now I understand! That’s really cool. And that sounds like a really refreshing sandwich!!

  7. lee malerich permalink
    June 21, 2009 6:50 pm

    dill is so fine! and i see the cucumbers you bought working into your life. was the crunchy peanut butter rejected? it is ok.

Leave a Reply

