Skip to content

Tex Mex Pasta Salad

June 21, 2009

Admit it.  You’ve had those moments when you take a bite of a side-dish and exclaim, “I could eat a whole MEAL of this!”  But you know it’s not a good idea.  It’s got just a few too many carbs for a main course and a lot too few vegetables to be your dinner.  But then you go ahead and do it anyway.  Because it is that delicious.  And you have no self restraint.

At least, that’s what I do.  And I have witnesses, unfortunately, that have seen me do this.

That’s what happened to me when I first enjoyed this recipe.  I simply could not stop myself.  I was eating it for breakfast, on top of tortilla chips, for dinner.  Over and over and over again.  And then I convinced myself that I could never make this pasta salad again.  I just eat too much of it.

And then a coworker (I know you are reading — hi B!) asked me for a killer pasta salad recipe.  And that conversation reminded me how delicious this salad truly was.

And I tried to get it out of my head.  I tried.

I failed.  It’s okay to admit defeat.  So I caved, but it was okay.

I decreased the pasta called for and increased the veggies.  Cheese became an accent rather than an ingredient and the ensemble was served over lettuce to make me feel a little better.  Oh, and the Omnivore added some delicious grilled chicken (if I do say so myself) atop his plate.

IMGP4161

TexMex Pasta Salad (4 servings, based on this recipe)
8 oz your choice pasta (I used wheat rotini)
1 cup very flavorful salsa (ie. not store brand, please)
1 3/4 cup black beans
8 oz frozen corn
1 can petite (important!) diced tomatoes
8 oz baby lima beans
1/2 diced onion
3 TBSP lemon or lime juice
1 T cumin
2 t chili powder
salt and pepper
cheddar cheese, shredded
sour cream (I used non-fat)

Boil pasta until al dente.  Rinse with cold water.  Toss with remaining ingredients and refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving.  Top with shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream (an ingredient that neither the Omnivore nor I usually enjoy, but it is quite tasty here).

IMGP4182

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2009 10:01 am

    nice job healthifying it! I think it’s kind of funny that some people assume when I bring this places that it must be healthy because it’s coming from me, but I always have to tell them no because I *only* make it for summer gatherings and never just for dinner at home 🙂

  2. June 22, 2009 12:52 am

    Ohhh I am going to try my hardest to find all the things I need to make this! I might have to leave out the lima beans…but I still want to give it a try!

  3. June 22, 2009 10:15 am

    wow – this looks colorful and so delicious! i love the southwest flavors!

  4. Becca :-) permalink
    May 3, 2010 11:07 am

    Hey B….making this tonight!! Thanks for the personal greeting!!!

Leave a Reply

