Skip to content

True Story

June 23, 2009

I don’t anticipate buying any rice for at least 3 more years.  I’ve been working off this gift of sorts for 18 months now.  And I’ve not made much of a dent.  Maybe that’s because we don’t eat much rice.  Two times per month.  Tops.

But maybe, just maybe, it’s because my aunt gave me at least 20 pounds of rice. Maybe we need some context to understand this gift.

  • I was graduating for college.  Everyone gets rice for graduation, right?
  • It was 2008, the year of the rice shortageNaturally, buy tons of rice when in short supply.
  • I like rice just fine.  As much as anyone else likes rice, at least.

Is it making any sense to you?  No?  I don’t blame you.

Maybe this will help you out.  My other aunt gave me a rice cooker for graduation.  Clearly, a girl whose only wish upon graduation is a rice cooker could benefit from 20 lbs of rice.  Ahh, the puzzle is coming together.

So, here is my latest attempt to make a dent in my rice pantry.  Yes, I’ve been forced to dedicate a whole pantry of my house to this grain.  I kid, I kid.

IMGP4214Don’t mind that delicious pretzel chicken in the background.  YOU DON’T EAT MEAT. SO THERE.

Creamy Confetti Rice (3 servings)
3/4 cup rice, uncooked
1/3 cup frozen corn
1/4 cup chopped roasted red peppers
1 green onion, sliced
1/4 cup broth or water
3 T cream cheese
1 garlic clove, minced
fresh basil

Cook rice according to package instructions.  When done, saute garlic stovetop.  Add roasted red peppers and 1/4 c water or broth.  Warm.  Add cream cheese and stir until melted.  Add frozen corn.  Cook 1-2 minutes.  Fold in rice, followed by green onion.  Top with basil.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. leemalerich permalink
    June 23, 2009 3:33 pm

    lol, lol! step outside the boundariesand twist the view on this stuff a little, and its a sit-com!!

  2. June 23, 2009 6:24 pm

    I attended RICE University, so one of my parting gifts as I went off to college was a bag of rice. Not nearly as large as yours though!

  3. Cate permalink
    June 23, 2009 10:15 pm

    For some odd reason, we bought a 20 pound bag of rice when we first got to Korea… I’m starting to think we’ll never get through it!

  4. June 25, 2009 11:04 am

    Haha, that’s a hilarious story. 20 pound bags of rice are a staple in our house, but it does take us a while to get through it. That’s such an odd graduation gift.

Trackbacks

  1. Black Bean and Corn Creamcheladas « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

