Skip to content

The Omnivore is a Green Bean Purist

June 25, 2009

The Omnivore is a green bean purist.  He wasn’t always like that, though.  Years ago, he’d only eat the green if there was more dairy involved than vegetable.  And by dairy, I mean Butter.  REAL BUTTER.

But times have changed.  Kids no longer walk to school.  White picket fences no longer exist.  And the Omnivore no longer eats his green beans slathered in butter.  REAL BUTTER.

In fact, he’s become a bit of a green bean purist. I kid you not: if we are driving down the road and the ‘Vore catches a glimpse of a farm stand advertising fresh green beans, he will stop the car.  Do a U-turn.  Pull over.  Risk my life.  And stop the car. Like your mother used to stop the car when you were misbehaving.  Only with much more whip-lash.

And he’ll charge the unsuspecting vegetable stand, purchase the beans, and be back at the car in a flash.  And then he proceeds to eat the green beans raw. Sort of like eating french fries, but much more vegan than that.

Don’t quote me on this, but I think he keeps little salt packets in the center console of the car to lightly salt the raw beans before eating.

IMGP4197 So, due to his dedication to the bean, I was worried that he might not enjoy a recipe with such flavor.  But I was wrong.  He loved this recipe.  And we rejoiced.  And all was good.

Balsamic Green beans and tomatoes (serves 4, adapted from here)

1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil, divided
1 pound green beans, trimmed
1/2 cup water
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups halved cherry tomatoes
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 small-medium onion, sliced
Salt & freshly ground pepper to taste

Heat 1 teaspoon oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onion and cook 3-4 minutes.  Add garlic and reduce heat to low.  Cook 2 minutes.  Return to medium heat and  add green beans and cook, stirring often, until seared in spots, 2 to 3 minutes.  Add water, cover, reduce heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, about 3 minutes for tender-crisp or 6 minutes for tender.  Add tomatoes, stir everything together and cook until the tomatoes begin to break down, 2 to 3 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in vinegar, salt and pepper.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2009 9:22 am

    This looks perfect for summer. Great combination of flavors.

  2. June 25, 2009 10:02 am

    Yum! Looks great. I also love raw green beans…but not as much as peas!

  3. June 25, 2009 12:38 pm

    I’ll admit it, I very much prefer my green beans raw. But the thought of green beans smothered in butter? Blech. lol

    I’ll definitely have to try this recipe! Looks delicious.

  4. June 25, 2009 1:27 pm

    This looks great, I love balsamic vinegar!

  5. June 25, 2009 1:29 pm

    wow, I wish my H would eat his greens without butter! …well he sorta has to now, since he can’t have dairy. But, I wish his parent would stop slathering it on veggies for the kids…

  6. June 26, 2009 2:48 pm

    Lucky! I can’t get my husband to eat green beans…. but this is definitely something I’d want to enjoy all for myself!

Leave a Reply

