Skip to content

Watch the comma

July 2, 2009

I know I sometimes have errors on my blog.  Here’s the deal: I think way faster than I type, so I get a little carried away in my blog posts when it comes to syntax or diction.  And then, once I’ve finally completed my blog post, I am so excited to hit the PUBLISH button that I rarely proof read what I’ve written.

Sometimes my mom emails me with errors in my blog.  I appreciate that.  Sometimes I go back and amend the post to fix the error.  Sometimes I don’t.  Depends on the phase of the moon.

But one error that I highly doubt you will run into on my blog is a comma splice or the misuse of an apostrophe.

Let me just say this once and for all: Apostrophes are never used to pluralize anything.

Not Panini: panini’s.  Not tomato tomato’s.  Not DVD DVD’s.  Just add the “s” and move along Betty.  Don’t get carried away with your punctuation.

These tiny little specks can change the meaning of a sentence or word in so many ways that I continually remain in awe of their powers.  Similarly, I am continually annoyed by the ubiquitous misuse of the comma and the apostrophe throughout my daily life.

I’m not going to even start on this topic.  I’ll get myself all worked up into a tizzy.  It might make me boil over.

But what I do want to emphasize about the following recipe is the placement of the commas in the ingredient list.  So, I’ll use this meal as a teachable moment about how to read a recipe.

IMGP4413

Napa Cabbage Salad with Oranges (2 servings)

1/2 cup bulgur, cooked
-Measure out 1/2 cup of bulgur (uncooked), then cook as directed
2 cups shredded napa cabbage
-Measure 2 cups of shredded napa cabbage, NOT 2 cups of napa cabbage to-be-shredded
1 scallion, sliced
1 orange, segmented, diced
zest from aforementioned orange
1 cucumber, diced
1/2 cup sliced zucchini
-Measure the zucchini once sliced

2 chik’n apple sausages (diced), 1 bona fide chicken apple sausage (cooked and diced), OR 1 cup chickpeas
-Choose one of these three options, people
1.5 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp soy sauce
1/4 cup chopped cashews
-NOT 1/4 cup cashews, chopped

Cook bulgur in 1 cup water as directed on pacakge (or, boiled water, add bulgur, simmer 10 minutes, let soak 10 minutes).  Fluff with fork and add sesame oil, soy sauce, and orange zest.  Combine remaining ingredients and serve at room temperature.

I love this recipe because the oranges provide a very juicy feel and there is no need for additional dressings.  It is a vegetable heavy salad, so if I were serving it to the Omnivore, I’d omit the zucchini.  The chik’n apple sausages added a wonderful fruity flavor that complemented the oranges, so if you eat meat I think that chicken apple sausage would go very well here (given that it is tasty at room temperature.  I guess I wouldn’t know…).  Chick peas would also be a great substitute.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 7:42 am

    I make something similar to this all the time here (but with rice) because Napa cabbage and zucchini are the cheapest, most readily available vegetables. Now I’m really sad I haven’t found bulgar yet (and that oranges are like $2 apiece) because this looks really good!
    And thank you for the apostrophe lesson – that’s one of my biggest pet peeves.

Leave a Reply

