Skip to content

Parsley Pesto

July 3, 2009

IMGP3783Dear Readers –

I’d like you to meet one of the resident carnivores.  She’s a rough-and-tumble kind of girl than the Omnivore picked up from the animal shelter a couple of years back.

She’s wicked smart.  It’s scary, really.  She can do complex commands like “Have some water and then go rest on your pillows” without flinching a whisker.

We feed her self-important ego by making her carry this backpack everywhere she goes.  She’s definitely the brightest light bulb in the box.  Quite frankly, it is a good thing we have this other (dimmer) carnivore to balance her out:

IMGP3806Meet the All-American black lab mix.  Fortunately (or unfortunately?) she will do pretty much anything I ask of her.  Even if it means balancing on the edge of a giant tree stump.  Good thing trusty-old-Shepherd and her pack is there to keep things safe.

So, such is life.  If you sign up for a visit with this vegetarian and her Omnivore, there’s a pretty good chance you’ll be spending the day with a couple of furry carnivores, too.  I’m pretty proud of them.

And they should be proud of me, too.  Wow.  That was blunt.  But I’m pretty stoked that I just received the

Oh How Lovely Award

from my fellow food blogger, Rebecca, at Woman with A Whisk.  Apparently, she likes the stuff I post and actually finds my commentary funny (unlike the rest of you who are simply annoyed by the delay to get to the recipes).  Please check out her blog for a wide variety of recipes to which I give a thumbs up.  And that means a lot (yeah, right…).

I’d like to pass this award onto other food bloggers as well.  Melissa at Delicious Melicious features wonderful recipes and stunning photography to boot.  Additionally, Gaga In the Kitchen deserves this award for consistently presenting mouth watering Asian cuisine that *almost* make me want to eat meat again.  And how could I forget Jerri at Cooking For Carnivores?  We’ve gotta give her props for cooking for a husband who eats less vegetables than my Omnivore.  Her partner in crime is certainly a carnivore and Jerri offers solutions and ideas for other families like ours!  Kira at Food alla Puttanesca is entitled to this award because I know she has actually tried my recipes!  And that’s just lovely. And lastly, Kerstin at Cake, Batter, and Bowl is consistently whipping up recipes that are just my style.  Bloggers, please pass this award onto other blogs that you find just as lovely!

Parsley – Basil Pesto

1.5 cups packed parsley
.5 cups packed basil
1/3 cup walnuts
2 cloves garlic
1 medium tomato
2 T nutritional yeast or Parmesan cheese

Whirl in food processor to a smooth consistency.

As you can see from the ingredients, there is no added fat in this recipe.  The moisture comes from the tomato rather than the usual addition of olive oil.  Very diet friendly!

IMGP4384

And good on roasted potatoes, too!IMGP4390

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 2:50 pm

    awwhh shucks! thanks branny. btw i love your commentary. and i hadn’t thought about pesto on my potatoes. a great way to sneak more green stuff into my meat and potatoes man!

  2. Sobaka permalink
    July 3, 2009 4:09 pm

    Congrats on the award! I love your commentary, always enjoy the latest post. Thanks for introducing your resident carnivores! They sound like great dogs. And it’s good to have a follower type to balance out the intelligent go-getter. If you had two bright bulbs to deal with you’d never rest. Thanks for blogging, yours is one of my favorites.

    • brannyboilsover permalink*
      July 4, 2009 1:31 pm

      What a nice post, Sobaka. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. July 5, 2009 8:25 pm

    Awww, your doggies are so cute! We really want to get one, but our apartment is just too small right now.

    Thanks so much for the award – you made my day 🙂

  4. July 6, 2009 2:22 pm

    Awww, thanks for the award, that’s so sweet! I love your blog too!

Trackbacks

  1. This whole cooking thing « Branny Boils Over

Leave a Reply

