Skip to content

Quinoa and Cheese

July 5, 2009

I’ve found that when I’m introducing a new and unusual ingredient to the Omnivore, it goes over best if there is cheese involved.  I don’t know what is is about the stuff, but cheese can usually turn the most appalling ingredient into something more than palatable.  Not that quinoa is appalling, or anything. I absolutely love it.

But after the incident with the bulgur, he is awfully suspicious of any grain that resembles cous cous.  And rightfully so, I guess.

And, with the help of our dear friend, Cheese, the quinoa passed the Omnivore test with flying colors.

IMGP4224

Quinoa and Cheese

1/2 cup sliced green onions
1 broccoli crown, finely chopped
3/4 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup milk
3/4 cup grated cheese, divided

Cook quinoa by bringing it to a boil in 1 1/2 cups water, reducing heat to low, and letting it simmer 10 minutes.  Remove from heat and let sit, tightly covered, for 10 more minutes.  Fluff with a fork to cool.  Incorporate chopped broccoli, milk, and 1/2 c cheese (if you are serving this to guests who like things particularly cheesy, increase to 3/4 cup).  Once significantly cooled, add beaten egg and spread into an 8×8″ baking dish.  Bake in a 350* preheated oven for 25 minutes.  Add remaining 1/4 c cheese and sliced green onions and return to the oven for 15 additional minutes.

I served this dish along side a Moroccan inspired lentil recipe.  For more photos, check out that blog post.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 8:30 pm

    Great recipe for when you’re craving mac&cheese but would like something a bit more healthy! Cheese does make everything better 🙂

  2. July 6, 2009 12:53 am

    I miss quinoa…it was the first grain (beyond rice) that I ever tried and I can’t find it here! I think I’m going to do something similar to this with brown rice in the near future…I love the idea!

Leave a Reply

