Skip to content

Black Bean and Corn Creamchiladas

July 7, 2009

And with this post, I’ve finished the never-ending-block of cream cheese I’ve had in my refrigerator.

You see, it all started when the Omnivore let it slip that he’d been visiting Dunkin’ Donuts with his coworker on days that he carpools.  And if he was actually eating donuts, I’d be okay with that (aside for the fact that he spends more $ at DD than he saves carpooling.  But it isn’t about the money, right?  It’s about the environment) because I refuse to make donuts at home.  But he’s actually eating bagels.

With cream cheese.

And he’s been telling me for years that he hates cream cheese.  And he doesn’t eat bagels at home when I’ve made them fresh from scratch.  I take that back.  He eats them the day they are made.  And the day after, if I bribe him.

I know, you’re curious about what I bribe him with.  Let your imagination run.  I will not confess.

Anyway.  So, I thought to myself, maybe he’ll eat my freshly made bagels if I buy some cream cheese.

He ate one bagel.

And the block of cream cheese has been making subtle appearances in many dishes hence.

IMGP4644

This recipe was wonderful.  It was *so nice* to have a Mexican meal without heat.  Spice, yes.  Heat, no.  Sure, sure, I like my jalapenos.  I’ll eat some cayenne pepper.  But once in awhile, it’s nice to just taste the flavor of the food without the distraction of the heat.

For the creamchiladas:
1/4 c Neufchâtel cheese
1 T lime juice
1 garlic clove, smashed
1 t cumin
1 t chili powder
1 t dried oregano
1 t dried cilantro
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 c frozen corn
1 cup black beans
5 8″ *ahem*homemade* tortillas

For the cooked salsa:
2 roma tomatoes, chopped
1 scallion, sliced

Mix together all ingredients.  Separate into 5 equal portions and roll into tortillas.  Place in a lightly greased baking pan and heat, covered, in an oven preheated to 350* for 20 minutes.  Add the chopped tomatoes and sliced scallion and continue cooking, uncovered, for 10 minutes.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 8:00 pm

    Yum Yum Yum!

  2. July 7, 2009 8:36 pm

    sounds good. and i often have to bribe the carnivore to get him to eat stuff all the time, so i feel your pain.

  3. Erin permalink
    July 7, 2009 9:23 pm

    Those look delicious! I love Mexican food.

  4. July 9, 2009 11:56 am

    Lookin’ good Branny! I always seem to have a mysterious hunk of cream cheese around too 😉

  5. December 6, 2009 6:17 pm

    These were great! Thanks for posting this recipe 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Menu Oct. 25-31 « Crockpot Tuesdays
  2. Menu Nov. 29-Dec. 5 « Crockpot Tuesdays
  3. Menu Jan. 17-23 « Crockpot Tuesdays
  4. Making dried beans in the crockpot « Crockpot Tuesdays
  5. Menu May 16-22 « Crockpot Tuesdays

Leave a Reply

