Skip to content

The Post-dinner debrief

July 8, 2009

IMGP4418

Most nights after dinner is finished, the Omnivore and I retreat to our easy chairs and debrief the meal.  Like any good sport, the kitchen-team (I’m the captain, the Omnivore is the star player) needs to wrap-up and debrief the previous events.

This is mostly for the Omnivore.  I refuse to taste-test any meat-laden dish I serve to him and it is just plain silly for me to continue making dishes that he does not enjoy and I do not get to eat anyway.  So honesty is important.

If the chicken was tough, tell me.  If the beef was chewy, spill it.  If the bacon was nasty…wait.  Bacon is never nasty.  Scratch that.

You get my drift.  But we also debrief the meals and side dishes that we enjoy together (ahem, the vegetarian portions of the meal).

After I served this side salad, I asked the Omnivore what he thought of it.

He confessed that at first, he was scared.  He thought it was the dreaded yam.

I immediately schooled him on the fact that most root vegetables sold under the auspice of yam in the United States are actually sweet potatoes and that it is not the season for sweet potatoes, really, anyway.  And by the way, when did you see a sweet potato served on a bed of raw napa cabbage with an accompaniment of cucumbers.  And additionally, can you not smell the ever-so-ripe melon fragrance emanating from the kitchen…?

Of course, I used much more tact than that when I confirmed that he did not eat a yam sweet potato for dinner, and affirmed him when he said he enjoyed the mint-y-chili-y-salad-side-dish more than he expected.

Chili Spiced Melon Salad with Mint and Lime (from here)

1 medium ripe cantaloupe or honeydew melon, cut into bite-size pieces
2 tablespoons chopped mint
Juice from 1 medium lime
1 to 3 teaspoons chili powder, or to taste
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Combine all ingredients in a serving bowl and toss well. Taste and adjust seasoning with chili powder. Serve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 4:14 pm

    How perfect! We just got a melon and mint in our CSA!

  2. July 8, 2009 11:40 pm

    Haha, my hubby always has honest feedback for me too. What a lovely salad – the mint and chili powder combo sounds really good!

Leave a Reply

