Skip to content

Operation: Emergency side dish

July 15, 2009

I woke up from a deep sleep with a thought in my head.  I had a vision.  A vision of zucchini and pinto beans.  A concoction that surely would lure the Omnivore from the zucchini-hating darkside to the zucchini-loving bright side.

This is a tough battle.  One that we’ve been fighting for years now.  Even after pouring his blood, sweat, and tears into growing zucchini from scratch seeds, he still puts his nose up to it.

But I had a plan.  So I preheated the oven.  I even preheated the baking dish to achieve the desired effect. I prepped the vegetable, using only the sharpest knife and most supreme vegetable peeler and julienne-er.  I assembled my side dish and set her off to bake in the oven.

And I think, maybe, just maybe, I experienced my first-original-recipe-flop.  But only maybe.  Because I still ate it.  And it was delicious.  But definitely not worthy of forcing presenting to the Omnivore to eat.  So I made him some ground turkey.  And he thought it was beef.  ANGUS BEEF. And I didn’t correct him.

I may have been out of luck and out of a side dish, but I was not out of inspiration.  *insert triumphant roar here*

You know that whole stream-of-consciousness movement we hear psychiatrists, psychologists, and psychotherapists speak about?  I had no motive.  No goal.  No concept.  I just started chopping an onion.  And then some celery.  I diced that really small.  I don’t like celery.  And away I went.

And I do believe my scoreboard at the end of dinner had 6 “Mmmms, this is the best part of the meal,” under the side dish column.

IMGP4772

Is it a frittata, a quiche, or a veggie-heavy omelet? (3 servings)
1 small onion, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
1/2 cup frozen corn
1/4 tsp celery salt
1 whole egg + 1 egg white + 2 T water beaten together
2 tsp cornmeal
1 oz cheese
1/4 cup diced roasted red peppers

Saute onion and celery in your smallest non-stick skillet.  Add frozen corn and celery salt.  Heat until corn thaws.  Add 2 tsp cornmeal to the beaten egg mixture (I don’t even know why I did this — blame stream of consciousness cooking) and pour over the veggie mixture.  Distribute cheese on top and add roasted red peppers.  Keep on medium heat for  3-5 minutes.  Then broil to set eggs on top.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 7:15 pm

    Looks Great!!!

Leave a Reply

