Skip to content

Beet it

July 30, 2009

Have you heard that Michael Jackson passed away?  🙂

Seriously, Michael’s passing is awfully sad.  But I truly believe some good as come from it.  Due to Michael’s internal struggle with self, and his openness about it, society has been forced to engage in many important conversations.

Drug abuse, growing up as a famous child, self-confidence, self-identification, child abuse, child custody…it goes on.

In fact, after my exercise class this past week, my instructor gave a very motivational speech featured around “Man in the Mirror” by MJ.

Her message?  You cannot control those around you.  You can only change yourself and your response to others around you.  And although Michael Jackson preached a great message, he only had it partially right.  The song was good in theory but he took the message too far when he began to surgically alter his appearance. 

You can only change yourself to a certain extent.

You cannot change how your body shapes and morphs as you gain and lose weight.

You cannot change your height, your shoe size, your hair texture.

You must learn to accept these things.  And grow stronger as a result.

I am so grateful that my spin class brought this message up, because since MJ’s passing, all I’ve been able to think about is beets.

Yes, the shunned and unappreciated root vegetable.

With all these “Beat it” renditions filtering through the media, how could I ever get this veggie out of my mind?

So, in honor of MJ, I made a delicious beet hummus recipe.  Use it as a dip, sandwich spread, face cream…just as you would any hummus recipe.

Or, however, incorporate it into a main dish.  Here I present you a portobello mushroom topped with the hummus served over a bed of wilted beet greens (don’t waste beet leaves!) with balsamic vinegar.

IMGP5217

To conquer this recipe, you must be brave, bold, and beautiful.  Just like Michael.

Beet it! (2.5 cups, adapted from here)
1-2 medium beets, roasted
-prepare roasted beets by placing in an oven heated to 400* for 40-50 min, depending on beet size, until soft when a   knife is inserted.  Peel beets after roasting.
2 cups of chickpeas
1 small yellow or white onion, chopped finely
3 cloves chopped garlic
1/3 cup tahini
1 Tablespoon cumin
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp salt

Whisk together the lemon juice and olive oil in a small bowl.

In a food processor or blender, pulse beets, onions, garlic, and chickpeas together until smooth.  Add tahini, cumin, and salt.  Pulse.  Scrape down the sides.  With the processor turned on, add the lemon juice and olive oil mixture until the hummus is at your desired consistency.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 7:41 am

    I love your post…so true! And your beet hummus is very pretty.

  2. July 30, 2009 11:43 am

    To conquer this recipe, you must be brave, bold, and beautiful –

    LOVE THIS LINE!

    Never been a huge fan of beets, but I loves me some hummus – I may have to give this one a try!

  3. July 30, 2009 12:03 pm

    Man in the Mirror is my favorite MJ song. I think there is alot to learn from it.

  4. July 30, 2009 2:11 pm

    YAY! Glad you liked it. Isn’t is gorgeous?? Funny how you wrote about MJ “Beat It”. We had our nephew stay the weekend with us, and he watched 2 things over and over OnDemand, Spongebob Squarepants and Michael Jackson’s “Beat it” music video. If I don’t hear that song again for a LONG time, I’m good.

  5. Brianna & Dustin permalink
    July 30, 2009 3:26 pm

    Thank you, Branny, both for the motivational speech and finally a way to use up my plethora of beets from 2 weeks worth of CSA!!

  6. July 30, 2009 10:18 pm

    What a gorgeous hummus! I just roasted beets for the first time a few months ago and discovered I really like them.

  7. Jenn permalink
    August 1, 2009 10:25 am

    LOVE the color of that hummus!

  8. Dad permalink
    August 1, 2009 1:39 pm

    Well dear, I see you didn’t beet around the bush about Mr. Jackson (you make me proud) and I must say your beat dish look wonderful.

  9. Michelle permalink
    August 2, 2009 3:39 pm

    Branny, Thank you for giving me another way to enjoy my fave summer vegetable- I actually have beets roasting in the oven right now- cannot WAIT to try this recipe 🙂

  10. shayneaja permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:39 am

    Hooray to you! For both a beautiful dish and a beautiful message!

Leave a Reply

